Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2022, 07:36 AM
samj83 samj83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: DC
Posts: 12
Default Roland TR909 Plugin not recording MIDI notes

Hey folks - I have what I think is a simple question but I've been stumped for days and need help.

I am using the Roland TR909 (and other) drum plugins in Pro Tools (most recent version, Win 11 PC). I put the 909 on an instrument track and everything works in terms of hearing the audio. I can route the drums separately via sub outs to aux tracks and all that good stuff.

What I CANNOT figure out for the life of me is how to get it to record the actual MIDI notes in real time on the instrument track into which I've placed the 909. Here is exactly what I'm doing:

1) Create pattern in 909 GUI.
2) Arm record instrument track with plugin.
3) Record.

What's happening is I can hear the drums via the i/o, but there is no MIDI being recorded. The Roland drum plugins do let you drag and drop patterns in as MIDI notes, and that works but I find it really tedious. I want to just record the MIDI notes and switch between patterns in real time. Is this not possible? Do I have to do the drag and drop method?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2022, 05:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,842
Default Re: Roland TR909 Plugin not recording MIDI notes

I'm not following what you expect to happen/are doing, and excuse my ignorance I'm completely unfamiliar with this plugin.

Have you had a look at the plugin manual? Seems to describe exactly how to save MIDI sequences to the track. Nothing really to do with usual Pro Tools MIDI track recording.

Oh boy a quick scan of Roland's Cloud offerings looks interesting, *will power* must stay away...

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-06-2022 at 05:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2022, 07:15 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,347
Default Re: Roland TR909 Plugin not recording MIDI notes

Yes you'll need to use the drag and drop.

The plugin does not output real time MIDI.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help - TR909 Recording Problems Leesweeting Pro Tools 9 4 06-13-2011 11:42 PM
Roland TR909 sync with ProTools - ARRGH! Sir Issac Waveski III MIDI 1 03-07-2005 09:04 AM
Roland TR909 and ProTool timing issue (sync) Sir Issac Waveski III 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-20-2005 05:56 PM
Roland TR909 + MIDI AndyDiamond MIDI 1 05-03-2004 12:59 AM
TR909 and Juno106 with midi - help needed dannydebekker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-11-2002 01:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com