Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2007, 06:54 AM
lbirdwell lbirdwell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default How \'bout this one?

Looking at this system. Any compatability red flags? Thanks much.

Manufacturer Specifications:

http://www.acerpanam.com/synapse/for...ords=&areaid=7

Specific Configuration:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...Tab=2&NoMapp=0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2007, 07:39 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: How \'bout this one?

A few.

Integrated Video is usually not recommended for Pro Tools systems.

You never mentioned which interface you were planning on using it with, but if it is any of the PCI card products, the answer is definitely no.

It uses an nVidia chipset that isn't in the list of supported ones on the Compatibility page. That doesn't necessarily mean it won't work, but it does mean that if you have problems, you are on your own.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2007, 09:04 AM
Gunnell Gunnell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 144
Default Re: How \'bout this one?

I use nVidia and have never had a problem. But I also use usb hard drives and have never had a problem there either. So sometimes it's just a matter of luck I guess. But you're on your own with that one.
__________________
OSX 10.8
Pro Tools 10 / 11
Sapphire Pro 40
Mac Pro 2.66 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
10 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How bout a hybrid. Fooks General Discussion 23 08-02-2012 06:33 AM
How 'bout some freakin help here!!! Woodrow 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-03-2007 12:13 AM
A few questions 'bout the C8 Chris Coleman ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 05-09-2004 09:45 PM
question bout C/R kmshroom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-07-2003 06:57 AM
How bout that headphone amp? pmh3r 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-03-2001 05:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com