Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2022, 03:34 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Just got Superior Drummer 3

Well I finally did it and got Superior Drummer 3 after all these years with BFD. Got tired of the malarkey that came along with the ownership transfer from fxpansion to InMusic. It's been everything bad that has been said about InMusic and then some. Random de-authorizations; having to stay logged in to their license manager (don't understand what they have against iLok).


Gigabit internet is helping a bit with download speed. Haven't decided if I'll download/install the two surround parts as I don't do that kind of work. For those users that do the full monty download - how's cpu usage on a Mac? Thankfully I have enough room on my samples ssd that's mounted in a pcie slot; it's not an NVME but suffices for what I need.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2022, 03:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,942
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

CPU usage has always seemed fine to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2022, 04:31 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,954
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

Congrats. You won't regret it. As you know I was right there with you with BFD for years, but couldn't take the auth issues, glitches, and awful interface any longer. Maybe they will correct that in BFD4.

SD3 is awesome. Sooo many awesome features. And if you use EZkeys and EZbass it's even more awesome.

I also added the Death & Darkness SDX and the DW kit is one of my go tos.

Not sure if you have EZdrummer, but you can also use EZXs in SD3. The EZXs go on sale all the time, so I've added a few of those kits as well.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2022
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-29-2022, 04:55 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,032
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
CPU usage has always seemed fine to me.
Thanks for that news. Do you have everything loaded (all the surround stuff)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
Congrats. You won't regret it. As you know I was right there with you with BFD for years, but couldn't take the auth issues, glitches, and awful interface any longer. Maybe they will correct that in BFD4.

SD3 is awesome. Sooo many awesome features. And if you use EZkeys and EZbass it's even more awesome.

I also added the Death & Darkness SDX and the DW kit is one of my go tos.

Not sure if you have EZdrummer, but you can also use EZXs in SD3. The EZXs go on sale all the time, so I've added a few of those kits as well.
Not holding my breath on BFD 4. It's a shame that it's become the disaster that it has become. I go as far back as the original BFD, then BFD 2 and now BFD 3.x. As to authorization issues BFD Drew has said they'll never go iLok. Weirdest one was I took a 5 minute break to take a bathroom visit and when I came back BFD was unauthorized even though it worked before the break.

Death & Darkness will be my first expansion library because as you know I'm a huge DW fan. I don't have EZ Drummer nor any of the other EZ products. Don't need them as keys and bass are a couple of my original instruments.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 04-29-2022 at 07:45 PM. Reason: spellling correction
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2022, 05:45 PM
Bob L's Avatar
Bob L Bob L is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 579
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Well I finally did it and got Superior Drummer 3 after all these years with BFD. Got tired of the malarkey that came along with the ownership transfer from fxpansion to InMusic. It's been everything bad that has been said about InMusic and then some. Random de-authorizations; having to stay logged in to their license manager (don't understand what they have against iLok).
Jack, Congratulations on your escape. I'd be right behind you but for the $400 that I don't have now, nor anticipate having any time soon.
__________________
Bob
Without a song
The day would never end
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-02-2022, 02:49 AM
pluginer pluginer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: Austin
Posts: 2
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

It's a great plugin. I have used it many times.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-02-2022, 06:56 AM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,933
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

I really like SD3, and Toontrack has got their s*#t together IMHO. Their product manager is second to none.

Great samples, kits, grooves and user interface. The grid editor is excellent too.

All it needs now is the 'Bandmate' feature that EZ Drummer 3 is coming out with, which I hope may be added at some point.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z690 AERO D
CPU: Intel Alder Lake Core i9-12900K
CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15S
RAM: Corsair Vengeance DDR5 64GB (2x 32gb 5200MHz)
Drives: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro 2TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (Record & Samples)
1 x Samsung 980 Pro 1TB NVME PCIE 4.0 M.2 SSD (OS Win 11 Pro)

GPU:Gigabyte GeForce RTX 3060 12GB GDDR6 PCIE 4
PSU: Corsair HX Series HX850 Platinim
CASE: Fractal Define XL R2
PT 11HD (v11.3.2) Omni s/pdif <> AxeFxIII
HD 96I/O
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-02-2022, 01:08 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,448
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

Opinions and needs vary but I skipped installing the extra/ambience stuff myself. I actually usually turn off the ambience and room mics anyway as I prefer the sound of my own "room", which has the added benefit of making my mixes sound less like the other thousand SD3 users I have been on the Toontrack bandwagon going back to original EZDrummer and SD2 and SD3 took it up several notches(wait till you use it to replace bad drum recording sounds)...
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-02-2022, 01:31 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,942
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

[QUOTE=musicman691;2635247]Thanks for that news. Do you have everything loaded (all the surround stuff)?

No. I just don't want to burn the disk space with surround. Not needed to do what I want anyhow, which is largely to lay down practice/scratch tracks.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-03-2022, 03:21 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: Just got Superior Drummer 3

SD got an update today 3.3.0. A few significant new features including VST3 support, percussion sounds from the new EZD3 library and a new column is the midi window that has a visual representation of the groove.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk
www.sound-on-screen.com - Original audio clips of movies, TV shows and games, licensed as regular production music.

PT 2021 Ultimate; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toontrack - EZ Drummer & Superior Drummer - UPDATES Seafoam_Green Virtual Instruments 4 06-27-2016 08:07 AM
Toontrack EZ Drummer 2 & Superior Drummer Update justus1900 AAX Plug-ins 4 06-18-2014 11:14 PM
EZ Drummer and Superior Drummer Problems verticleman Virtual Instruments 5 01-02-2011 12:41 PM
Superior Drummer and EZ Drummer on sale nst7 Virtual Instruments 0 09-01-2010 10:57 AM
Ez-Drummer and Superior Drummer by Toontrack Narzugon Virtual Instruments 3 12-17-2008 09:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com