Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2015, 02:56 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Using Vocal Rider to automate Pro Tools channel faders [Video 02:03]

Hi all, I just picked up Vocal Rider yesterday. Tried it out today, I had some time to make a quick screen capture video, so here's a quick tip for you.

If you use Vocal Rider but other people you work with don't, then it's kinda useless on its own if you're sharing sessions. This video will show you how to convert the Vocal Rider automation into channel fader automation so it can play back on any Pro Tools system.

Note: This same process can be used to convert Vocal Rider automation into Trim automation. A good method is to set vocal rider to ride very smoothly, and then fine-tune with touch automation and a quick autoglide setting.

Watch in HD 1080! https://youtu.be/dGkN1fWpWkc
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2015, 09:51 AM
sicktanick sicktanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
Posts: 26
Default Re: [Video 02m 03s] Using Vocal Rider to automate Pro Tools channel faders

Thanks for this video, very cool! I do however have a question about vocal rider maybe you could answer. When it comes to multiple takes (say for instance the chorus) would you do this same method to each individual track? And I also wanted to clarify, the whole purpose of riding vocals is to improve the dynamic performance of the vocal track to sit perfect in a mix with the music so the vocal increases / decreases just as the music itself does correct? Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2015, 10:52 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: [Video 02m 03s] Using Vocal Rider to automate Pro Tools channel faders

Yeah, there's nothing stopping you from doing it across multiple tracks. That requires multiple instances of vocal rider. I would not use this to "auto-mix" a track though, just to rein in a more dynamic performance a bit so I can do another gentle pass with trim automation.

The purpose of riding the fader, with or without a tool assisting you, is to control dynamics. Very similar to compression, but (usually) more transparent.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2015, 11:19 AM
sicktanick sicktanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
Posts: 26
Default Re: [Video 02m 03s] Using Vocal Rider to automate Pro Tools channel faders

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Yeah, there's nothing stopping you from doing it across multiple tracks. That requires multiple instances of vocal rider. I would not use this to "auto-mix" a track though, just to rein in a more dynamic performance a bit so I can do another gentle pass with trim automation.

The purpose of riding the fader, with or without a tool assisting you, is to control dynamics. Very similar to compression, but (usually) more transparent.
Excellent thank you I just wanted to make sure will had the basic concept right. Since I have you here though one more question to make sure I am doing this right to feed in the music....on my stereo instrumental file (hip hop beat) I create a send to a mono bus, then I put that bus as the key input on vocal rider (which I have set up on a stereo aux and use as a send to all my vocal tracks) does this seem to be a correct way to send the music to VR as well as have VR as a send to each vocal? Thoughts? Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2015, 12:18 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: [Video 02m 03s] Using Vocal Rider to automate Pro Tools channel faders

I'm not sure what you're trying to achieve... The way you describe it will essentially duck the vocals, making them much harder to hear over the instrumental.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2015, 12:35 PM
sicktanick sicktanick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Albuquerque NM USA
Posts: 26
Default Re: [Video 02m 03s] Using Vocal Rider to automate Pro Tools channel faders

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
I'm not sure what you're trying to achieve... The way you describe it will essentially duck the vocals, making them much harder to hear over the instrumental.
Oddly enough it doesn't seem to do that at all, it seems to ride them out very effectively.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2022, 02:52 PM
Bradford Cox Bradford Cox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Posts: 2
Default Re: Using Vocal Rider to automate Pro Tools channel faders [Video 02:03]

It took me a while to find an answer, but here it goes.
  • In Vocal Rider - arm the "rider" for automation
  • Put Vocal Rider in Write mode
  • Track in automation write mode
  • Hit play and let the Vocal Rider do what it does
When done -
  • F7 and select the Vocal Rider automation you want to be fader volume moves
  • CMD C - copies this
  • On that track, display "VOLUME" automation
  • Edit pulldown - PASTE SPECIAL (CTRL CMD V) which is "To Current Automation Type"
You can now disable or remove vocal rider from that track because all the vocal rider moves are now track volume moves.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS:Waves Vocal Rider + WUP JSK Audio Buy & Sell 3 06-02-2014 01:09 PM
Waves Vocal Rider crashes Pro Tools LE 8.0 Hugen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-31-2010 06:49 PM
Waves Vocal Rider bug. usastra Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-05-2010 05:00 PM
Vocal Rider Wango 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-05-2009 06:55 PM
Waves vocal rider crizdee Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 11-03-2009 11:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com