Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2018, 11:21 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,425
Default Waves issue with 2018 and Win 10

If you are having issues with Waves, the solution appears to be;
Update to the latest Waves Central.
Open it and uninstall all Waves plugins.
Do a fresh install of all waves plugins.
I ran into this while trying to install a new plugin I purchased.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2018, 11:47 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,925
Default Re: Waves issue with 2018 and Win 10

I had a similar issue. From my thread about it:

"Putting this up in case anyone else has the same issue.

PT 12.8.3 on W10 Pro up-to-date.

Today I opened WLC and a) there was an update to that, so proceeded and b) there were updates to my Waves plug-ins, so proceeded with them.

Open Trasher, back up Preferences, delete as usual, empty Recycle Bin, Reboot, restore Preferences and try to open Pro Tools. OOOPS, need to locate Waves 9.91 folder. What, I now have Waves 9.92? Try to find folder, can't seem to, then cancel, PT crashes. Do the Trasher dance again, same issue.

Navigate to the PT plug-ins folder and find folders for 9.91, a copy of 9.91 and 9.92. Moved the two 9.91 folders to the Desktop, did the Trasher dance again and...yes Pro Tools now functions properly."
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2018, 02:08 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Cypress Texas
Posts: 788
Default Re: Waves issue with 2018 and Win 10

Just so everyone knows , I had to do this on one of my windows 7 systems also, oddly only on the desktop not on either laptop. Yes I know 7 isn't "supported" with 2018 but it still works. Unless you buy a new waves product
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 64 Gig Memory:Seagate 2x 2TB, 4TB,500gb EVO OS Windows 10 pro
PT 2022.9 Studio through an A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2018, 09:54 AM
BCnSTL's Avatar
BCnSTL BCnSTL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Flyover states, USA
Posts: 250
Default Re: Waves issue with 2018 and Win 10

Thank you - I had to do this as well. Everything is working *except* I can't get the WAVES Rewire plugin to work. I've tried running the installer buried in the \WAVES\rewire (or where ever it is) directory but no joy. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2018, 01:50 AM
Becharax's Avatar
Becharax Becharax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 2,287
Default Re: Waves issue with 2018 and Win 10

Thank you !
__________________
System Details:
iMac Pro 2017 8 Core Intel Xeon 3.2 Ghz
macOS 11.6.2
Pro Tools 2021.12
Logic Pro X
Reason 11

UA Apollo 8p
Apogee Thunderbridge/Apogee Symphony I/O 2x6
Eleven Rack/Focusrite ISA Two/Onyx 1640i
UAD Satellite Quad
MOOG Mother 32
Nektar Panorama P1
Axiom AIR 49/Axiom 49/Yamaha P35
Fender Mustang/Marshall Amp/Ibanez Pedals/Fender Strat/Yamaha FG820L/Martin DJr10e
Genelec 8040b/Yamaha HS80s/M-Audio BX5a
Beats Solo/Shure SRH1840/Slate VMS

https://open.spotify.com/artist/7KfV..._branch=1&nd=1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10.3.10 Waves issue please help d02457219 Windows 24 04-29-2019 01:56 PM
Xpand!2 2018 & Air Instruments 2018 lgreen100 Pro Tools 2018 16 02-15-2018 06:01 PM
GUI issue with waves CLA-76 only Raoul23 RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 4 10-04-2017 02:04 PM
Waves issue Frank of Denmark Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-25-2009 08:25 AM
Does anyone else have this Waves issue? Mark Wheaton Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-26-2006 04:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com