Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2013, 01:15 PM
sma5jp sma5jp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default What new laptop/computer will work with Pro Tools 8? ha

Hi guys

I've been working with Pro Tools 8 LE for a few years and love it but the Windows laptop I'm using is just not up to it, 2gb RAM and crap CPU mean that enough is enough and I have to invest in something powerful.

My budget is about £600 or $800 or there abouts. It seems laptops with i5 processors and 8Gb RAM are easily available for about £400 nowadays, which is great. However I'm concerned about Pro Tools 8 running on them, specifically on Windows 8. Would anyone recommend getting Windows 8 or 7?

Also I'm not sure about the whole 32 bit / 64 bit systems. What I understand is that a machine running with 8Gb memory will be 64 bit and won't work with PT8 as that's in 32 bit? I'll level with you. I don't really understand this!

I'm not against getting a mac or desktop, however I'm concerned with the costs of getting a new mac and then having to get a newer version of Pro Tools with it.

Basically, if you had a copy of Pro Tools 8 LE for windows, and a budget of £600 / £700 for a machine to use it on, what would you do? What particular things would you be looking out for?

Thanks, Jamie
__________________
System Details
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2013, 03:23 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,448
Default Re: What new laptop/computer will work with Pro Tools 8? ha

Personally, I would shop for a used MacBook Pro with an i7 cpu. Getting a Windows laptop that WILL work is a crapshoot at best, and most budget machines don't have a separate graphics processor(which seems to really help for PT on Windows). Windows 8 would require a newer version of PT, and with the Mac, avoid Mavericks, You still need to research and find out which versions of PT will work with the various OS options out there.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop computer for Pro tools travgei Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 06-12-2011 12:49 PM
Pro Tools M-Powered - Will it work on my laptop? bob081191 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 08-13-2010 06:04 PM
Will Pro Tools 8 m-powered work on my laptop? jjk Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 9 05-28-2010 03:43 PM
Will my new laptop work with pro tools 7.4? zion72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 04-08-2008 03:11 PM
Pro-Tools LE 7.3 on an IBM X31 Laptop? Will it work? HELP!! epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-13-2007 04:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com