Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2011, 08:42 AM
johnut johnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: wordwide
Posts: 13
Default 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

Hello!
I use a 003rack with a PC Windows XP 32-bit and digi driver v.7.3, without any problem, for many years. the problems that I will describe later they never occurred with Windows XP and digi asio driver v.7.3.

I now have a new PC on which I installed Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, so I downloaded from the Avid website the drivers v.9.0.265 for 003rack, and I installed them without problem.

I also performed all the instructions provided by Avid on how to optimize Windows 7.
my pc system with Windows 7 is clean, fresh installation, with the devices of the motherboard installed properly without conflicts, and any other external device connected.

with "windows media player" and 003rack the sound is heard very well ...

Unfortunately I'm experiencing some problems with the use of the new ASIO driver v.9.0.265 for 003rack with some third-party audio programs, and I not know the causes, the problems are as follows:

- Using the Digi ASIO driver in Cubase5 32bit, the playback audio is distorted a bit "scratchy" with asio buffer from 128 to 4096

- Always using cubase5 if I go to change the digi asio buffer (ex. from 1024 to 256) then i click "ok" on digi asio contro panel, after the 003 midi signal disappears in cubase.

- Using the Digi ASIO driver in SoundForge 10c, the audio feels good and runs, but vumeters of SoundForge do not move in real time with audio, as they stay in a photo.


I want to know:

- I downloaded and installed the correct driver version for 003rack and windows7 64bit?

- Anyone knows these problems I described? can someone tell me how to be solved?

Thank you all!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2011, 04:32 AM
miklinhalstead miklinhalstead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 2
Default Re: 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

Hi, I think I'm having similar symptoms although a different system -- Win7 32bit, Digi 002, downloaded the recommended ASIO drivers, and Cubase 6 has permanent distortion on everything. The ASIO overload light immediately lights within Cubase, although the ASIO activity meter is relatively low. No midi recognised by Cubase, although the activity light on the 002 responds to input.

No solutions yet, just moral support!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2011, 06:37 AM
johnut johnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: wordwide
Posts: 13
Default Re: 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

I also noticed that the "LED 1394" of 003rack flashes when you start Windows7 (without any windows start sound), instead of being turned off unless you run the audio playback, as happened in winxp and drivers v.7.3
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2011, 08:35 PM
miklinhalstead miklinhalstead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 2
Default Re: 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

Same with mine, although it goes solid when Cubase grabs the interface. The scribble strips used to display "working..." when Cubase 5/WinXP was using it, whereas in the current setup they just go blank.

It would be useful to know if this is all normal, from anyone who's gotten this to work, or if it's indicative of something that can (or can't) be fixed!

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-08-2011, 07:57 AM
epu epu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 933
Default Re: 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

This has been going on for YEARS w/no available fix. Some people have their 003s running W7/64 w/o issue, many are NOT. I've had the same symptoms you complained about, posted Sandra Reports here, did all W7 Optimizations w/no accord. I tried all drivers and different PT versions also (.0.1, .0.4 etc).

I decided to just stick w/XP32 bit until my next major upgrade which will include building a new PC, scrapping my 003 all together, and purchasing a HD Native system. My system has no issues in XP and in XP w/the 3GB switch, all runs fine.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2014)
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
Pro-Tools 12
2.5GHz i7 Quad Core
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2011, 08:00 AM
johnut johnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: wordwide
Posts: 13
Default Re: 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

problems between 003rack + Windows 7 + asio driver v.9 probably only occur using cubase5...? So why the driver v.8.0.4beta do not have some of the v.9 problems ? it works differently (better) than the v.9
however, even using the v.8.0.4beta the LED 1394 always flashes when it should not (windows startup logon)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2011, 01:35 AM
oxelamp oxelamp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Estonia
Posts: 35
Default Re: 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

asio driver was rewritten from 8.0.4. 8.0.4b seems to be essentially 8.0.3 modified to run in win7.
as of fix - none available. search "asio" and you'll see yourself.

my 1st thread about this issue - http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=277986
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2011, 11:55 PM
johnut johnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: wordwide
Posts: 13
Default Re: 003rack + windows7 64bit = asio driver problems

Now I work very well with the 003r + 8.0.4.beta + cubase5 + win7-x64, works well as working with "winxp32 "....

for now...the only remaining question-issue is:

sometimes the "003 midi input" disappears from Cubase....
when change cubase project, when change 003 asio buffer, when change sample rate frequency....
I have noticed that this happens every time cubase or win7 or 003 interface open or close communication with the "003 asio"...I do not know exactly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-25-2011, 07:28 AM
johnut johnut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: wordwide
Posts: 13
Default 003R+win7x64+Avid Driver v.9..... = asio driver problems with thirdparty Daw apps

the problems between "asio driver v.9 and 003 on win7x64" "may" depend on the incompatibility firewire controller used with 003....?

I was thinking of buying a "SIIG" PCI FW1394 card, but before proceeding to buy I want to be sure that these issues really depend on the firewire controller...I can't spend money and then fail to solve problems.

question:

there is someone who uses a 003R + win7x64 + avid asio v.9....+ "SIIG" PCI FW1394 card or other avid compatible FW controller, without any audio-midi problem (as the problems described earlier in this discussion) with cubase5 or soundforge10 or other third party Daw software?

with the "SIIG" FW card, these problems disappear?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
use the 003rack with other Daw apps on Windows 7 64bit Slaido 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 04-05-2011 02:04 PM
003rack+win7-64bit PC+digi asio driver = midi input (5pin) problem! Slaido 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-22-2011 07:32 AM
PT9 on HP DV-6 windows7 64bit? Kissa3 Windows 12 02-25-2011 11:50 AM
Problems with ptl 8.04 in windows7 64bit!!!! MENACE3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-13-2010 01:54 PM
windows7 64bit mediawest 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 11-17-2009 12:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com