Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2010, 01:08 AM
deardaddy deardaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liege - Belgium
Posts: 389
Default VSS3 Vs Revibe

My goto reverb is actually Digi's Revibe, I'm happy with it so far.
TC is selling all their plug ins at half the regular.

The VSS3 goes for 400€.
My question is pretty simple but I don't have the answer, is the VSS3 really different from the Revibe ? will it be a big "plus" for me ?

I know the question might depend on opinions and not facts but that is what I'm looking for here.

I have to decide today as the offer ends in a few hours.

Thanks for your time.

Pascal
__________________
Pascal Zander
Stand up
Audio recording & post
www.standup.be

MacPro 2019 16 Core
10.15.7
PT Ultimate 2021.3.1
HDX 1
D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2010, 01:19 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

Quote:
Originally Posted by deardaddy View Post
My goto reverb is actually Digi's Revibe, I'm happy with it so far.
TC is selling all their plug ins at half the regular.

The VSS3 goes for 400€.
My question is pretty simple but I don't have the answer, is the VSS3 really different from the Revibe ? will it be a big "plus" for me ?

I know the question might depend on opinions and not facts but that is what I'm looking for here.

I have to decide today as the offer ends in a few hours.

Thanks for your time.

Pascal
Hi,

I have both, but VSS3 is my go to for drum verbs and short verbs and is on every mix. i have a couple of nice presets i like in revibe but generally prefer VSS3.

I recommend it 100%


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2010, 01:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,309
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

+1 for using VSS3 for percussive elements. ReVibe is great for making spaces, but TC is better for something that needs to stand out a bit.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2010, 03:01 AM
deardaddy deardaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liege - Belgium
Posts: 389
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

Thanks for your opinions .....


Pascal
__________________
Pascal Zander
Stand up
Audio recording & post
www.standup.be

MacPro 2019 16 Core
10.15.7
PT Ultimate 2021.3.1
HDX 1
D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2010, 06:09 AM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
+1 for using VSS3 for percussive elements. ReVibe is great for making spaces, but TC is better for something that needs to stand out a bit.
To add to this---Revibe doesn't really have a sound per say, it's just there. I really love this plugin and use it ALL the time because it sounds great without sounding fake. I also have huge mixes, so the fact that each instance only uses 1/2 of a chip. When using 6-7 reverbs--that is quite handy. As mentioned the VSS has it's own sound character---a little warmer and richer....more detailed, etc. For example, I like to put something like this on a snare drum where I want to add punch or electric guitar where I want some bark----where I'd normally use Revibe for the real sustain. Does that make sense? I have multiple reverb plugins and I must say that they are all unique in their own way.
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2010, 09:00 AM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,850
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

The Air Reverb is also nice...
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT Ultimate Native 2022.7 - Mac Mini M1 16GB RAM - Mac Os 12.5.1 - 2 192 IO Digidesign Digital


PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 2008 16GB RAM
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2010, 10:23 AM
deardaddy deardaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liege - Belgium
Posts: 389
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

Just saw on ebay that you can buy the VSS3 there for just 250$ (licence & ilok).
I've never bought a plug in on ebay, is it safe to buy plug ins there ?
The seller will send an ilok as it is not possible to transfer to another ilok account, is it annoying to have several iloks (I often travels with my system) ?

Thanks for your time.


Pascal
__________________
Pascal Zander
Stand up
Audio recording & post
www.standup.be

MacPro 2019 16 Core
10.15.7
PT Ultimate 2021.3.1
HDX 1
D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2010, 11:19 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,681
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

Quote:
Originally Posted by deardaddy View Post
Just saw on ebay that you can buy the VSS3 there for just 250$ (licence & ilok).
I've never bought a plug in on ebay, is it safe to buy plug ins there ?
The seller will send an ilok as it is not possible to transfer to another ilok account, is it annoying to have several iloks (I often travels with my system) ?

Thanks for your time.


Pascal
Hi,

You wont have it registered or be able to sync the ilok and wont be able to update in the future!!
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2010, 12:22 PM
deardaddy deardaddy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liege - Belgium
Posts: 389
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

Thank you very much for the info on the ebay plug ins selling, I didn't know that it was like that.
I guess it is then more interesting to buy direct from TC even if it is 200€ more ....


Pascal
__________________
Pascal Zander
Stand up
Audio recording & post
www.standup.be

MacPro 2019 16 Core
10.15.7
PT Ultimate 2021.3.1
HDX 1
D-Command
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2010, 12:26 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: VSS3 Vs Revibe

Quote:
Originally Posted by deardaddy View Post
Thank you very much for the info on the ebay plug ons selling, I didn't know that it was like that.
I guess it is then more interesting to buy direct from TC even if it is 200€ more ....


Pascal
You can place an order with me---I do this as a direct download meaning NO SHIPPING or DUTIES via shipping
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fs: TC VSS3 TDM 299usd Recallbeats Buy & Sell 5 10-02-2012 07:42 AM
TC VSS3 Fixed on PT8 dr sound Post - Surround - Video 0 02-09-2009 09:25 AM
Tc vss3 K.I. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-09-2009 07:09 AM
TC Electronis VSS3 TCLguy1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 03-13-2007 02:19 AM
Anyone using TC Electronic MD3 or VSS3 with PT7 HD guitar012001 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-03-2006 01:13 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com