Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-27-2007, 11:16 PM
djrobbie djrobbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 12
Default Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via ISDN

Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via ISDN patch?

I'm currently working at an Ad agency post production dept. doing audio post.
We often patch to other studios via ISDN (Zepher). when i'm patch to other
studio's I have to mute my talkback so as not to cause feedback in the other studio.
sometimes i don't mute it fast enough and there is some feedback. this is very unprofessional
There is a way to eleavate this issue.
i'm sure it's very easy, like a cue send from our talkback.
I just cant figure it out.
if you have any suggest please let me know.

thanx

Robbie
SF CA
415.307.0627
robbie@filmwurks.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-28-2007, 11:03 AM
epm epm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 146
Default Re: Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via ISDN

this really depends on your setup,
but the way i do it, is if you are receiving, send your record track directly to your main output while recording, instead of to the mix bus and if you have to audition takes, just move the recorded region onto a vo track going to your mix, that you can send to the remote studio.

your description is a little vague, so i might not have answered your question... i hope i could help though.
__________________
-Evan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-28-2007, 12:09 PM
John McDaniel John McDaniel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 609
Default Re: Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via ISDN

Put pencil to paper and draw a signal flow diagram of your current setup. Then draw a diagram of what signals need to go where (or not) in order to make a setup that does what you want.

Make it happen with the I/O window. Crack the manual.

Signal flow is amazingly flexible in PT, but the virtual aspect of it throws some people for a loop. Putting it down on paper will help make it clearer for you, AND you'll be better prepared to deal with the day when an agency hack says, "Can you patch me into the session from my cell phone? I want to be able to talk to the copywriter sitting with you without the remote talent hearing me unless I tell you I want them to hear me. Can you do that?"

j mcd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-28-2007, 01:42 PM
Peter Groom Peter Groom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 353
Default Re: Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via ISDN

Are you using a mixing console.
How i do this is with a mixer is
Bring output of ISDN decoder to a channel, and route that to the Pr Tools record track
Feed the ISDN encoder (input) from a desk group and ensure that the ISDN output channel does not bus to this output.
Bus your talkback mic to the bus that feeds the isdn encoder, but not the bus that feeds the recording (this way you can cue / brief the performer mid take without running the risk of recording yourself.)
You can ofcourse send anything else required to this isdn input bus.
This schieves the Mix minus state - ie far end performer hears a mix you send him, minus himslef.

Cheers
Peter
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-28-2007, 05:50 PM
CLee CLee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago
Posts: 404
Default Re: Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via

dude... post in 1 place only
__________________
Craig Lee@Cerny American
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-28-2007, 08:48 PM
djrobbie djrobbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via

my appologize. wont happen again, however was unsure which heading to post this under.

peace
robbie
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-28-2007, 09:28 PM
djrobbie djrobbie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studio via

i'm using a pro control which controls the talkback. It dims what is coming through our mains when the talkback button is pushed, however i'm still wonder it some sort of cueing is needed to make this situation full proof.

thanx for your response. i will be getting back to you with more questions.

Best.
Robbie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISDN Studio in Albuquerque, NM Joe Mendelson Post - Surround - Video 2 09-11-2015 05:39 PM
ISDN Studio in Vancouver? Joe Mendelson Post - Surround - Video 6 09-05-2013 01:00 PM
Mix Minus Diagram for ISDN/Phone Patch Esus macOS 1 06-07-2012 11:23 AM
Mix minus for talkback when patched to other studios ..Help! djrobbie Post - Surround - Video 12 06-03-2007 10:34 PM
ISDN, Talkback, Pro Control, No Console spigots Post - Surround - Video 2 01-03-2003 08:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com