Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2004, 10:35 AM
chameleogaz chameleogaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 laptop?

Hi,

I just ordered digi-002 rack and am considering buying a used (PC/winXP) laptop to use as a mobile tracking rig. If I'm only going to be tracking and NOT mixing on this laptop, what are the minimum system specs I could get away with? Would an 800mHz processor with half a gig of ram work? Could I get by with a slower processor? I'll have external firewire hard drives, so drive space isn't an issue.

I'd like to be able to use this to just track/record 8 inputs at 44.1kHz/24bit or 2-4 inputs at 96kHz/24bit. I'd then transfer everything to my desktop PC to do the mixing/mastering.

Thanks for your input.

-Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2004, 10:39 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 laptop?

Bare minimums are listed on the compatibility page.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2004, 10:50 AM
chameleogaz chameleogaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 lap

Quote:
Bare minimums are listed on the compatibility page.
I might be blind, please correct me if I'm missing something, but all I see on that page is:
"The following CPUs are required for best performance with the Digi 002 Rack:"
note the "for best performance"

I'm not looking for best performance while mixing down 32 tracks of 96kHz/24bit audio with 30 plugins running... I'm looking for really bare minimum requirements for ONLY tracking a handfull of tracks.

Thanks for your input so far.

-Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-08-2004, 12:50 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 lap

If it's an 800Mhz P3, I expect it would be plenty for the tracking you describe, and even more. 512M RAM is fine.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2004, 09:17 AM
chameleogaz chameleogaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default Re: min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 lap

Quote:
If it's an 800Mhz P3, I expect it would be plenty for the tracking you describe, and even more. 512M RAM is fine.
Thanks for your help!

-Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2004, 08:34 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,449
Default Re: min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 lap

Check me if I'm wrong, but I don't think the PIII is approved.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2004, 08:55 PM
Cliffy_Boy's Avatar
Cliffy_Boy Cliffy_Boy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montréal, Québec
Posts: 5,091
Default Re: min. sys. requirements for tracking on 002 lap

Quote:
The following CPUs are compatible with the Digi 002, but may not provide the best performance:
AMD AthlonXP 1500+ CPU (or faster)
AMD Athlon "Thunderbird" CPUs running at 800 MHz (or faster)

The following CPUs have not been fully tested and therefore are not recommended for the Digi 002 Rack, as they may not provide the best performance:

Intel Pentium III CPUs

P4's are listed as having best performance, not minimum requirements.
__________________
Cliff Stendel
-iMac 5K 32g
-PT12. HDX
-HD I/O 8x8x8. -HD Omni -Avid S3


-API 2500 -API 5500 -UA 2-1176 -UA 2-610
-Neve 1073, Chandler LTD-1 -Eventide H8000FW -Lexicon PCM96
-Bricasti M7. -Joe Meek channel.


-Waves Mercury, Flux all, Softube All, Plugin Alliance all, McDSP all, Sonnox All, MH production, Wave Arts,a bunch more
-Moog Voyager XL, Nord Piano, Hartmann Neuron, ARP Axxe, Gibson Les Paul, Mesa Boogie Roadster, Kemper, Taylor T5 and T5-12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Laptop/Desktop Tracking-only no Mixing PT_Nathan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-16-2009 05:19 PM
XP tip for Pro-Tools laptop w/Mimimum Requirements hubad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-30-2005 04:36 PM
Laptop sub £500 for tracking...? fabpab 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-03-2005 10:55 AM
laptop requirements shanti88 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-24-2002 11:51 AM
portable laptop tracking quintheskimo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-15-2002 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com