Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 09-25-2022, 09:01 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,281
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Hats aplenty.

I give you this. There may just as well be badly coded thunderbolt driver than it is possible to write a good USB driver. Darryl has proven at least RME does it very well. Generally speaking, though, USB being the way of least effort USUALLY is subpar compared to almost any random thunderbolt interface.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-25-2022, 12:25 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,744
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos audio View Post
As soon as you need more than 32 I/O, HD Native is very relevant.
You can run up to 64 I/O with any suitable Core Audio or ASIO interface with Pro Tools Studio or Ultimate.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-25-2022, 01:20 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 3,798
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

I think either format can be entirely adequate for most tasks. When we extend into large formats with a lot of I/O, yes, the formats begin to show discrepancies, but for the average configuration we'd be hard pressed to sense a difference. I'm referring to USB vs TB.

For core audio vs. digilink there's a different set of factors differentiating them. I'm finding core audio to be more flexible overall, but using the HDN box and ProTools' Hardware/IO Setup just works well with my brain. And... core audio doesn't allow us to use Avid HDs, so there's that tiny detail.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-25-2022, 02:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,941
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
You can run up to 64 I/O with any suitable Core Audio or ASIO interface with Pro Tools Studio or Ultimate.
Actually it's better with Ultimate/Flex as you can now run 256x256 IO on Core Audio and ASIO.

--

Again (to others not Sardi or Eric) folks need to stop repeating old out of date and out of touch claims here like they are gospel. The key past justifications for buying into Digilink and HD native no longer apply. If it's working for you today great,... and these systems can be fantastic...but read the writing on the wall. DigiLink is being abandoned by new users and by Avid (outside of HDX, and lets guess what will happen for future HDX/DSP systems, no DigiLink on Carbon for a start). And sure sounds like Avid has a feature coming to make the adoption of ASIO/CoreAudio for existing DigiLink users even easier...

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 09-25-2022 at 03:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-25-2022, 03:18 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,941
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Hats aplenty.

I give you this. There may just as well be badly coded thunderbolt driver than it is possible to write a good USB driver. Darryl has proven at least RME does it very well. Generally speaking, though, USB being the way of least effort USUALLY is subpar compared to almost any random thunderbolt interface.
I suspect there maybe some truth in this if you specify a bit more fully, that is Thunderbolt drivers derived from vendors PCIe drivers will tend to be very good since those higher-end vendors have already put lots of good engineering into PCIe based interfaces where they pay attention to latency and just overall goodness. Where it's a new driver or the driver is really doing more USB over Thunderbolt who knows how good or bad it might be.

RME can show they can make great USB or Thunderbolt drivers (they get to leverage their great PCIe drivers for Thunderbolt.. but their USB driver performance is identical for all effective purposes).

There are other vendors who also clearly have driver work done well, MOTU is one vendor I've been impressed with with driver quality (don't own their gear, have friends who do). Yes I also know MOTU has had software issues at times. Notable they provide USB and Thunderbolt connections on some interfaces and IIRC were getting similar latencies to Thunderbolt, but details matter, and I don't have all those details handy.

The USB market might be harmed at the lowest end by cheap crappy vendors shoving chip vendors low quality example driver code into product. Or contracting out driver development, if you see any sign of this run the other way.

I suspect any of the mainstream quality vendors we talk about here frequently have fine support for their USB and Thunderbolt devices that allow scaling into what was previously HD Native territory for Pro Tools users... remember all those other DAW users have been pushing on them for years.

What would be most useful is anybody with CoreAudio or ASIO interfaces that are having problems to just speak up on DUC and warn others off.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 09-25-2022, 05:27 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 2,744
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Actually it's better with Ultimate/Flex as you can now run 256x256 IO on Core Audio and ASIO.
Correct. Sorry, I should have been more clear.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-26-2022, 04:14 AM
chaos audio chaos audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Germany
Posts: 18
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Actually it's better with Ultimate/Flex as you can now run 256x256 IO on Core Audio and ASIO.
Ok, sorry I must have missed that. Is there an Avid service document where Core Audio with 256 I/O is described?
__________________
PT Ultimate 2022.10, HD NATIV TB,
MacStudio Max, Sonnet EchoIIID, MTRX Studio, 2x192, UAD2 Quad, Sonnet Fusion SSD Raid
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-26-2022, 04:19 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 23,281
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

avid.com, pro tools, compare -- says it right there.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-28-2022, 06:50 PM
Hud Hud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: London
Posts: 51
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Actually it's better with Ultimate/Flex as you can now run 256x256 IO on Core Audio and ASIO.
--
And sure sounds like Avid has a feature coming to make the adoption of ASIO/CoreAudio for existing DigiLink users even easier...
What feature is coming?
Thanks
H
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-28-2022, 07:26 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,941
Default Re: Using an HD Native Thunderbolt w/ the new Macs??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hud View Post
What feature is coming?
Thanks
H
Aux I/O on Mac. And it's here now in 2022.9.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt via HD Native box vs. Strictly Thunderbolt TheGrobinson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 09-29-2022 05:30 AM
Avid HD Native Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt Cables. SoundEng1 Buy & Sell 0 10-30-2018 11:24 PM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 11:26 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Firewire interfaces with thunderbolt only macs John_Toolbox Third Party Interfaces 10 09-27-2013 12:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com