Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-28-2022, 04:06 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
AUX IO in Pro Tools 2022.9 - in combination with DAPS, Bridge and HDX:

https://youtu.be/ZdM3HsHuozQ



Jeff
Looks great!

Can I use Aux I/O to go from Pro Tools to DAPS, but have DAPS connect to a physical MADI interface (connected to and clocked by MTRX)?
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-28-2022, 04:45 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,895
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Yes, you could either use DAB or PTAB to get to DAPS. If PTAB, you would need to make a custom 130 channel path - editing your PTAB config. DAPS could be assigned to any output MADI or Dante for example available to Coreaudio, but definitely clocked.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-28-2022, 05:25 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Yes, you could either use DAB or PTAB to get to DAPS. If PTAB, you would need to make a custom 130 channel path - editing your PTAB config. DAPS could be assigned to any output MADI or Dante for example available to Coreaudio, but definitely clocked.


Jeff
Great, look forward to trying when I am not in the middle of something Is there any reason to preference DAB over PTAB in this scenario? I can only think of one, the Atmos Assembler being hard-coded to use DAB, and thus not having to switch input device in DAPS.
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-28-2022, 05:30 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

One more question, PTAB doesn’t do any drift correction/ASRC right? I presume not given you said above everything must be resolved to a common clock, but someone in the Atmos FB group suggested this might be the case.

There was also a question about whether this gets frame accurate sync when using HDX as primary playback engine with Sync genlocked to video ref, but monitoring via renderer patched via Aux I/O.
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-28-2022, 06:17 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

At initial glance, PTAB seems to only support 64 channels while DAB does the full 130 into the renderer.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-28-2022, 06:27 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
At initial glance, PTAB seems to only support 64 channels while DAB does the full 130 into the renderer.
PTAB can have an arbitrary channel limit, you just need to edit /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL/ProToolsAudioBridge.driver/Contents/Resources/ProToolsAudioBridge.config.

Code:
# ProToolsAudioBridge configuration file
# Format: WIDTH,NAME
# Add up to 16 lines/devices
2,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 2-A
2,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 2-B
6,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 6
16,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 16
32,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 32
64,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 64
# added for 130 channels similar to DAB
130,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 128+2
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-28-2022, 06:29 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
PTAB can have an arbitrary channel limit, you just need to edit /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/HAL/ProToolsAudioBridge.driver/Contents/Resources/ProToolsAudioBridge.config.

Code:
# ProToolsAudioBridge configuration file
# Format: WIDTH,NAME
# Add up to 16 lines/devices
2,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 2-A
2,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 2-B
6,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 6
16,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 16
32,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 32
64,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 64
# added for 130 channels similar to DAB
130,Pro Tools Audio Bridge 130

Gasp! Great tip. Might even rip a few off the list entirely.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-28-2022, 06:31 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,176
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

My first attempt to get it working wasn't too successful unfortunately, played for a second then no audio received by DAPS. Clearly I'll need to take a day or two in downtime to get it working...
__________________
https://lukehoward.com/
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-28-2022, 06:48 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,030
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
My first attempt to get it working wasn't too successful unfortunately, played for a second then no audio received by DAPS. Clearly I'll need to take a day or two in downtime to get it working...
Please update if you do! I won't be able to upgrade immediately but it would be nice to know what's possible.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-28-2022, 07:05 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,276
Default Re: MTRX Studio Mic In's / Dolby Audio Bridge...

Quote:
Originally Posted by LukeHoward View Post
My first attempt to get it working wasn't too successful unfortunately, played for a second then no audio received by DAPS. Clearly I'll need to take a day or two in downtime to get it working...


It is happening here even with PTAB 64. I'll give it another spin later today with the unedited config file and see if it performs any better.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Renderer sync issue with HDX/MTRX Studio remainanon Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 7 05-24-2022 03:32 PM
MTRX Studio HDX and Dolby Atmos Production Suite Goombot Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 64 09-30-2021 02:02 AM
What brings Dolby Audio Bridge to HDX users? nedd Post - Surround - Video 29 01-03-2020 04:24 PM
Dolby Audio Bridge and AVB RSLAMBERT Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 0 11-03-2019 02:46 PM
Dolby Media Producer Suite v2, Decoder, How to get audio to my SPK w HDX and MTRX rig bsteeve Post - Surround - Video 3 08-16-2019 07:19 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com