Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2012, 06:47 PM
vinicius.almeida123 vinicius.almeida123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Recife, Brazil.
Posts: 4
Question Virtual Midi Keyboard on Pro Tools SE

Hi guys,
I use the Pro Tools SE 8.03 version with my Fast Track Pro on a PC, and i would like to know if there is any way to use my keyboard as a Midi Controller to Pro Tools. I've tried some solutions suggested on the internet, but none of them have worked.I've tried VMPK directly with PT, but it doesn't show the VMPK and vice versa. I've tried to use VMPK with Midi Yoke, but when i open the VMPK and click at Edit>Connections, the Midi Yoke doesn't appear too, and when i open PT, it doesn't show Midi Yoke.
What can i do???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-29-2012, 08:05 AM
vinicius.almeida123 vinicius.almeida123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Recife, Brazil.
Posts: 4
Default Come on, guys!

Is there anybody in there???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-2012, 05:14 PM
mysg4ever mysg4ever is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 19
Default Re: Virtual Midi Keyboard on Pro Tools SE

I don't think you can use your keyboard as a controller. I wanted to do a similar thing with a drum machine. I gave up. I use the pt drum loops or tap out drum parts on my keyboard.

This forum is like a morgue. Most of the users are just having problems getting pt to run. I would love to see a more user success forum, with links to hear some of the finished works that were recorded on pt se.

If you figure out a way to do it, can you please post how.
Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-31-2012, 07:15 AM
vinicius.almeida123 vinicius.almeida123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Recife, Brazil.
Posts: 4
Default Re: Virtual Midi Keyboard on Pro Tools SE

I've seen a lot of people that use their keyboard as a controller, but it just doesn't work with Pro Tools SE, i guess.
Well, I'd love to see more experienced users and replies around here too! :/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2012, 07:49 PM
Em3xus Em3xus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 19
Default Re: Virtual Midi Keyboard on Pro Tools SE

This sounds like something which I'd love to use!

I imagine that you would need some sort of software emulation which tricks Pro Tools SE into thinking that your computer keyboard is a standard MIDI keyboard.

I'm intrigued and will have a look for myself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2012, 07:21 PM
Em3xus Em3xus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 19
Default Re: Virtual Midi Keyboard on Pro Tools SE

I've found the following site: http://www.vanilin.org/software/midikb.html

It looks very promising! I'll be trying it out myself as soon as I can (maybe tonight)

There are quite alot of options out there for such a thing if you take a look:

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=computer+keyboard+midi+keyboard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual midi keyboard for pro tools Nesp Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 11 08-14-2017 12:12 AM
Virtual MIDI driver / keyboard mapper for PT9 on laptop MotifMan Pro Tools 9 2 06-21-2012 11:40 AM
How to control Virtual Instruments via external Midi-Keyboard? Sonic-B Virtual Instruments 5 05-23-2011 02:36 AM
Using Virtual Instruments without Midi Keyboard hendrixrocker2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-13-2010 03:08 PM
virtual MIDI keyboard for Intel on PT ? Simon666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-19-2007 06:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com