Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-28-2012, 01:13 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,734
Default Folding down 5.0 atmos to stereo

I am using allot of my 5.0 atmoses placing them on 5.0 tracks.
But sometimes I want to subtract it as only stereo tracks.
I want to make it fast (of line) with basic setting like C -3 dB, LsRs -3-6 db, no LFE. Just like I can do on AAX Fold Down Mixer or RTAS SoundCode Stereo LtRt plugin.
I use SoundMiner v4 pro but it doesn't have a VST mixer it used to have anymore.
In PT I have a SoundCode Stereo LtRt plugin, but it has a bug crashing PT each time I select 5 actual and 1 vertual (just selecting) track for processing. I submitted this to Neyrinck support.

So what are you doing without going to real time folding down process?
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2022.6 Ultimate ● macOS Mojave 10.14.6
MacPro 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon ● 64 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + DADman 5.6.2 + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2012, 01:27 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,737
Default Re: Folding down 5.0 atmos to stereo

http://www.maggot.co.nz/software/spanner.shtml

also audio-suite so faster than real time. Also great behind a 5.0 reverb to quickly narrow the output to stereo or even mono.
__________________
PTHDn 2022.7 (OSX12.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2012, 01:51 AM
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,902
Default Re: Folding down 5.0 atmos to stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frank Kruse View Post
http://www.maggot.co.nz/software/spanner.shtml

also audio-suite so faster than real time. Also great behind a 5.0 reverb to quickly narrow the output to stereo or even mono.
+1 on that. Great little tool and not even expensive.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24 | S3 | Dock
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2012, 04:57 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,734
Default Re: Folding down 5.0 atmos to stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
+1 on that. Great little tool and not even expensive.
Bought it.
Thanks ;-)
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2022.6 Ultimate ● macOS Mojave 10.14.6
MacPro 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon ● 64 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + DADman 5.6.2 + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2012, 05:21 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: Folding down 5.0 atmos to stereo

and don't forget you can leave it running as a live panner on pretty much any format of track - especially those that don't get given a panner by PT.

even on stereo and mono tracks it's parameters lay out on the control surfaces in a much more useful way (except the MCControl - sorry frank)

if anyone here wants to suggest a layout for the MC Control I can try find time to build you guys a special pagetable file to hack into your plugin.

justin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2012, 01:35 PM
mikevarela mikevarela is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: Folding down 5.0 atmos to stereo

Found that the LtRt Plug crashed PT when matrixing mono tracks. Put the tracks into a 5.1 or 5.0 track and then matrix
__________________
NuanceTone.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2012, 04:38 AM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: Folding down 5.0 atmos to stereo

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikevarela View Post
Found that the LtRt Plug crashed PT when matrixing mono tracks. Put the tracks into a 5.1 or 5.0 track and then matrix
mike, are you talking about Spanner?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding/Portable Table for D-show mixer ShawnMitchL VENUE Live Sound Systems 2 06-26-2012 06:51 PM
Dolby Atmos mikevarela Post - Surround - Video 3 06-25-2012 07:13 PM
Atmos librarys garret Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 08-17-2005 03:30 AM
Folding 5.1 to Stereo chuckmtk Post - Surround - Video 3 06-21-2004 06:20 PM
Folding down 5.1 mixes? Stuart P. Post - Surround - Video 2 03-17-2003 04:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com