Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2012, 06:07 PM
lpadua lpadua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Laredo, TX
Posts: 3
Angry Pro Tools SE doesn't launch at all on brand new Sony VAIO Laptop

Hi!

Really struggling!!! Tried most of the recommendations on the DUC, but none have worked...

I could INSTALL the Pro Tools SE software, but when I double click on the desktop icon, the computer just "thinks" for a while, but nothing ever pops up. The program won't run!

Installation went fine, except for one thing: just before finishing the installation, an error message appeared: "Microsoft Windows Register Services stopped working". It has happened every time I try to install Pro Tools again.

I just bought and installed The Fast Track Pro M-Audio USB interface, and the interface works fine. I can plug my keyboard or microphone and use it on other programs such as Magix Music Maker 16 (which I have installed... is that the problem?).

I was very excited about using Pro Tools but it just won't lauch at all. I have tried uninstalling, installing again, disabling anti-virus, etc.

This is my system, which is brand new and supposedly powerful, so it should work!!:

Sony VAIO, Intel Core i7 2.00GHz, 6 GB RAM, 64-bit OS, Windows 7 Home Premium, BD DVD RW, Pro Tools SE 8.0.3, Fast Track Pro

Has somebody found a similar problem? Am I alone in space?

Please HELP!! And thanks a lot for your time if you've made it up to here...

I don't have any crazy peripherials connected, just the wireless printer!!

Here goes the whole Sandra report on my computer:
SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Owner-VAIO
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : Sony VPCF224FD VAIO
Serial Number : 27545942-3000909
Chassis : Sony Notebook
Mainboard : Sony VAIO
Serial Number : N/A
BIOS : AMI (OEM) R1190V3 09/05/2011
Total Memory : 6GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz (4C 8T 2.6GHz/2.9GHz, 2.6GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 6MB L3)

Chipset
Memory Controller : Sony Core (Sandy Bridge) Mobile DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 3GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 1.33GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : 4GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Memory Module : 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 520M (48 SM5.0 1.48GHz, 1GB 1.58GHz, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 520M (48SP 1C 1.48GHz, 1GB 1.58GHz)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 520M (48SP 1.48GHz, 1GB 1.58GHz)

Storage Devices
WDC WD7500BPVT-55HXZT2 (750.2GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache) : 699GB (C:)
Optiarc BD RW BD-5740H (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 3MB Cache) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS)
Hard Disk (C:) : 686GB (NTFS) @ WDC WD7500BPVT-55HXZT2 (750.2GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Recovery : 12GB (NTFS)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ Optiarc BD RW BD-5740H (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 3MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Sony HM65 LPC Controller
Audio Device : Sony Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : Sony HDMI Audio stub
Audio Codec : nVidia 001Ch
Serial Port(s) : 2
Disk Controller : Sony Cougar Point Mobile 6 port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : Sony PCIe SDXC/MMC Host Controller
USB Controller 1 : Sony Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 2 : Sony Cougar Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
USB Controller 3 : Sony Renesas Electronics USB 3.0 Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Sony FireWire Host Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : HP Photosmart D110 series (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Amyuni Document Converter 400 (2400x2400, Parallel, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : Hewlett-Packard D110,192.168.1.94 (Scanner, 2400x2400, USB)
Scanner : Hewlett-Packard HP Deskjet 3050 J610 series (NET) (Scanner, USB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter (802.11g (ERP), WEP n-bit, 54Mbps)

Power Management
Battery No 1 : Sony Corp. 57.24Wh

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Home 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2012, 06:44 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,418
Default

Is Pro Tools 8 (of any flavor) supported officially on Windows 7?

Read the threads in this forum on what it takes to get Pro Tools 8 running on Windows 7. I assume you may need to do similar steps.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2012, 06:48 AM
lpadua lpadua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Laredo, TX
Posts: 3
Unhappy Re: Pro Tools SE doesn't launch at all on brand new Sony VAIO Laptop

Darryl, thank you very much for taking the time to reply!!

Windows 7 IS supported officially!

According to Avid:

"Windows 7 Service Pack 1 with Windows 7 Home Premium, Professional, and Ultimate (32 and 64-bit) is now officially qualified with the following versions of Pro Tools:

Pro Tools 9.0.2
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5
Pro Tools SE 8.0.3
Pro Tools M-Powered Essential 8.0.3"...

I have followed the threads on Windows 7, but everyone seems to have it running, and they experience other problems ONCE it's installed and running.

However, mine doesn't even launch. I have not found any thread on a problem similar to mine, and even though I have followed the procedures on other's recommendations, I can't make it run!!

I'd surely appreciate if anyone can shed more light onto this!!!

Thanks again!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2012, 07:21 AM
Dcader10 Dcader10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 71
Default Re: Pro Tools SE doesn't launch at all on brand new Sony VAIO Laptop

Hello,

Ask a tech if this could be preventing Pro Tools from installing right. - "Microsoft Windows Register Services stopped working".

I had installed M-Audio Fastrack USB interface that came with M-Audio Session Recording software on my Win 7 laptop. Session was not supported in Win 7 but got it to work. Later I bought M-Audio Mobile Pre interface that came bundled with Pro Tools SE 8.0.3 and installed these. I was hoping to just switch out the interfaces depending what recording program I was going to use. To make a long story short Pro Tools would freeze up loading plug-ins or not work at all. I was told that there was conflict with the drivers and I would have to switch drivers each time I wanted to use the particular program or interface. I didn't want to hassle so I uninstalled the first program and interface. Now I only have Mobile Pre and PT on the laptop and it works. I installed my other program on my desktop to use it seperately. Its possible that its a driver issue with having different M-Audio interfaces or recording programs installed on the same computer. I am a member like you. Can't say this is your problem but just trying to help.

Dcader10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2012, 09:26 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lpadua View Post
Darryl, thank you very much for taking the time to reply!!

Windows 7 IS supported officially!

According to Avid:

"Windows 7 Service Pack 1 with Windows 7 Home Premium, Professional, and Ultimate (32 and 64-bit) is now officially qualified with the following versions of Pro Tools:

Pro Tools 9.0.2
Pro Tools LE 8.0.5
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.5
Pro Tools SE 8.0.3
Pro Tools M-Powered Essential 8.0.3"...

I have followed the threads on Windows 7, but everyone seems to have it running, and they experience other problems ONCE it's installed and running.

However, mine doesn't even launch. I have not found any thread on a problem similar to mine, and even though I have followed the procedures on other's recommendations, I can't make it run!!

I'd surely appreciate if anyone can shed more light onto this!!!

Thanks again!!
But you are using the *Home* edition which I don't think actually is formally qualified. I don't know if there are really any issues there or not, be sure to search here for that specifically.

Have you done the system optimizations at http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...411?popup=true Especially make sure you are running as Administrator.

if nothing appears to start up what showing up in the Windows event viewer?

Sometimes folks are confused by not really disabling antivirus software when they think it has been, you may want to try completely removing whatever you have there along with other crapware installed on your system.

You can try uninstalling Pro Tools and drivers and any other unneeded software and reinstalling Pro Tools. A full OS reinstall without any Sony crapware may be worthwhile (I don't know how bad current Sony PC installs are with that, but with PCs first thing I do is wipe the OS and do a fresh clean install.).

The register service message makes me suspect a full wipe and reinstall is a good idea but you can also google for the ways this can be avoided (it is likely related to Windows DEP. Search for "DEP" and the full error message.)

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-28-2012, 08:15 PM
lpadua lpadua is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Laredo, TX
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools SE doesn't launch at all on brand new Sony VAIO Laptop

Again, Darryl, thanks a lot for the hints. Also thanks to Dcader10. I'll work on your recommendations and will only be back "if all else fails"... Best wishes.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-9092 Error with Pro Tools 8 on Sony Vaio Laptop FroManHD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-16-2011 04:26 PM
PT 7.4 and laptop sony VAIO Sonnao 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-03-2009 05:24 PM
Sony Vaio Laptop and Pro tools LE 8 and Mbox bunnylittle1981 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-20-2009 10:45 AM
Sony Vaio Laptop and PT 6.1 Bass1968 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-05-2004 09:29 AM
G4 p'book 867 or Sony VAIO 2.4 GHz laptop ?? Jonsos 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-30-2003 09:15 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com