Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-04-2010, 10:44 PM
agilblom agilblom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default Upgraded to Core 2 Quad, performance TANKED

Hi,

I've just finished moving all my studio software onto a new computer as an upgrade. My old computer specs are in my signature. The new computer is:

Intel Core 2 Quad 2.7 GHz
3 GB RAM
Win XP Pro SP3
System Hard Disk: 40GB Sold State Intel SATA
Recording Hard Disk: 500GB Western Digital MyBook Firewire

The rest is the same as the signature, except that I also upgraded to M-Powered 8.03cs1 while doing the move. Before I had reasonably good performance having also applied the Win XP optimizations listed on the Digidesign website. Well, after completing the move and also applying the same optimizations, I'm getting all kinds of constant LOUD static, tracks dropping out, and all around poor performance. Besides Windows and ProTools, there is almost nothing else installed on this computer since it is a clean install on a new solid state hard drive (for the system drive).

I don't understand what is happening especially since this new computer is technically so superior to the past one, but the performance is plain awful. Can someone give me some recommended settings to apply in the hardware engine tab or offer any other advice? This is really frustrating. I thought everything would be running so smoothly once I finished this.

Thanks for any help.

-Alex
__________________
Computer: XPC Cube/Custom
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP3
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0 GHz
RAM: 2 GB
Recording HD: External Western Digital MyBook 500GB Firewire
DAW: Pro Tools M-Powered Version 8.01cs1
M-Audio Devices & Driver Versions: Fast Track Ultra 8R, driver version 5.10.0.5098

My most recent project: Mariachi Static
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-04-2010, 11:11 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: Upgraded to Core 2 Quad, performance TANKED

First post a sandra report then I would go into the workspace browser to change your system drive to a "transfer" drive even though you plan not to use it for playback or record anyways. I wonder if digi will smile or not on that solid state drive.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2010, 11:03 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,474
Default Re: Upgraded to Core 2 Quad, performance TANKED

The problem is that have done multiple upgrades at the same time. 8.0.3 has produced these symptoms for many of us, even on the same system that ran 8.0.1 well. Go back to the most recent Clone of your system before PT and install 8.0.1 cs1 to test your new setup.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2010, 09:26 PM
agilblom agilblom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgraded to Core 2 Quad, performance TANKED

Yeah, I reinstalled back to 8.0.1cs1 and the horrible side artifacts are gone but the performance is still sluggish. Maybe 60/70ms of latency when monitoring a performance. Should I take the number of processors back to 2?

-Alex
__________________
Computer: XPC Cube/Custom
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP3
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0 GHz
RAM: 2 GB
Recording HD: External Western Digital MyBook 500GB Firewire
DAW: Pro Tools M-Powered Version 8.01cs1
M-Audio Devices & Driver Versions: Fast Track Ultra 8R, driver version 5.10.0.5098

My most recent project: Mariachi Static
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2010, 09:47 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Upgraded to Core 2 Quad, performance TANKED

Quote:
Originally Posted by agilblom View Post
Yeah, I reinstalled back to 8.0.1cs1 and the horrible side artifacts are gone but the performance is still sluggish. Maybe 60/70ms of latency when monitoring a performance. Should I take the number of processors back to 2?

-Alex
Run CPUz and make sure your processor is running at its rated speed. you may need to disable Speedstep or lock the multiplier.

Your performance should double moving from dual to quad core.

While I have never had a issue upgrading Core 2 series processors it always a good idea to do a fresh Windows install whenever you change a major component like a board or processor.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2010, 11:07 PM
agilblom agilblom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgraded to Core 2 Quad, performance TANKED

OK, I'll run that program tomorrow when I'm back at my studio. I did a fresh install of Win XP Pro on the computer since it's a new hard disk too. How would I go about making the changes you listed?

-Alex
__________________
Computer: XPC Cube/Custom
Operating System: Windows XP Pro SP3
Processor: Pentium 4 3.0 GHz
RAM: 2 GB
Recording HD: External Western Digital MyBook 500GB Firewire
DAW: Pro Tools M-Powered Version 8.01cs1
M-Audio Devices & Driver Versions: Fast Track Ultra 8R, driver version 5.10.0.5098

My most recent project: Mariachi Static
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT Performance on new Quad-Core Macbook Pros Max H. Post - Surround - Video 9 03-25-2011 09:28 AM
Continuous random performance issues PTLE 8.0 MacPro quad core. Help! murph16 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-21-2009 08:44 PM
i7 vs Core 2 Quad performance Ducatista 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-15-2009 04:36 PM
Mac Pro Quad 3.0ghz 4 core vs. Dual Quad 8 core? AllThingsMusicStudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-04-2008 08:22 AM
Will we ever see optimized Quad Core performance? dfusion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-27-2006 11:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com