Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-02-2022, 11:51 AM
rhodesb3 rhodesb3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Location: topanga ca
Posts: 1
Default M1 Macbook crashes and restarts when HDX chassis is removed

M1 Macbook
HDX card
192 Interface
PT Ultimate 2022.6.0


I recently upgraded to the M1 Max laptop and life has been much better overall because of it! (does it even have a fan? we may never know)

The issue I'm having is when I disconnect the chassis with the HDX card from the MacBook, the MacBook crashes and restarts on its own, showing the 'your computer restarted because of a problem'

I just upgraded from an older TB2 Sonnet Echo Express III, using a TB2 to TB3 adapter to an Avid HDX TB3 chassis, and am having the same issue.

Is anyone else having this issue? This didn't happen with my previous macbooks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2022, 12:41 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,412
Default Re: M1 Macbook crashes and restarts when HDX chassis is removed

Hi welcome to DUC.

This is a known and documented issue. See https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ig-Sur-Support

Quote:
Apple M1 machines can kernel panic if an HDX chassis is disconnected while the computer is on or the computer is put to sleep. To disconnect an HDX chassis safely, the computer must be powered down.
But even without this crashing bug, I am not sure why you upgraded from an older Thunderbolt 2 chassis. The only way a Thunderbolt 3 chassis works with Avid's (cough broken) HD Native and HDX cards is if they use PCIe 2 (hence that internal PCIe 2 switch on Sonnet Thunderbolt 3 chassis... the Avid branded Sonnet box may not have a switch, not sure, but it will also have to operate using PCIe 2 for the cards to work.)... so effectively you might as well have kept the Thunderbolt 2 chassis using a Thunderbolt 3 to 2 adapter.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 07-02-2022 at 05:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ProTools|First New Install Starts then Crashes then Restarts over and over SavageMusicYT Getting Started 2 06-28-2021 09:45 AM
expansion chassis for a Macbook Pro Jason Fyrberg Post - Surround - Video 4 05-17-2010 09:50 AM
HD on a MacBook Pro (Expansion Chassis) ummagma Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-17-2010 04:34 AM
Expansion chassis for a macbook pro Jason Fyrberg Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 07-12-2007 11:03 PM
Crashes and restarts: ¿corrupted session? marbez 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 05-02-2003 06:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com