Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-04-2022, 12:52 PM
guitrman guitrman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Dark Side of The Moon
Posts: 10
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

THe CPU usage doesnt really show much. But i am getting new cpu errors. Im getting closer and closer to just starting from scratch. Pain in the ass but it all worked so well up until the windows update.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-05-2022, 10:35 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,476
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

Be sure you backup your current system drive before you do this.

After installing and updating... Install only Pro tools and see if this fixes things before you go too deep in the weeds.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-06-2022, 09:15 AM
guitrman guitrman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Dark Side of The Moon
Posts: 10
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

Can anyone here tell me which version of PT works with windows 10 and can I get it from avid?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-06-2022, 12:31 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,476
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitrman View Post
Can anyone here tell me which version of PT works with windows 10 and can I get it from avid?
That would be 12.5 up to current for supported versions.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-07-2022, 12:26 PM
guitrman guitrman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Dark Side of The Moon
Posts: 10
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

Windows 10.0.19042 is the exact build or the version I have. Just want to make sure Im buying the right thing. Thank you all for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-07-2022, 02:52 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,427
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitrman View Post
Can anyone here tell me which version of PT works with windows 10 and can I get it from avid?
already answered in post #2 above
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-07-2022, 03:13 PM
guitrman guitrman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Dark Side of The Moon
Posts: 10
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

I saw that, Thank you. So what is the difference between the version number 12.5 and the Pro Tools 2021.12 release number???
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-07-2022, 05:41 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,665
Default Re: Playback stopped working correctly after windows update

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitrman View Post
I saw that, Thank you. So what is the difference between the version number 12.5 and the Pro Tools 2021.12 release number???
Avid switched from using a release number, such as PT 10, 11, 12, 12.5, … to using the year and month as the version number. 12.5 was the first to support Windows 10 and was before the new versioning scheme. 12.5 is over 20 versions old, so there have been many changes since then. Here is a link to the Operating System Compatibility Chart which will give you a better idea of what I’m talking about.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fader on S1 stopped working after update Rammelt Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 2 11-07-2021 09:20 PM
PRO TOOLS 8LE was working on windows 8, stopped working after 8.1 update... Jon Vandenbor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-01-2015 02:10 PM
Playback function not working correctly essdog7 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-17-2004 01:15 PM
Playback of selection not working correctly vocomotion Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-16-2004 07:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com