Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2011, 03:43 PM
Jwhitehead333 Jwhitehead333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mullumbimby, Australia
Posts: 13
Default 24" Apple Cinema Display audio problem

Hey guys,
I just purchased a 24" ACD, after connecting the 3 cables (power, display out and USB) I also connect my external speakers through my mac book pros headphone output. When i play iTunes or a video on youtube, the sound comes out of my external speakers, which is what i want. When I play something in Pro Tool 9 (without changing anything), it comes out of the ACDs speakers, which aren't as good. Obviously i want to fix this.
I searched this forum, and google, but could not find out what the problem is.
Thanks for any help.
__________________
Jeremy Whitehead
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2011, 09:45 PM
Jwhitehead333 Jwhitehead333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mullumbimby, Australia
Posts: 13
Default Re: 24" Apple Cinema Display audio problem

Anyone have any ideas? Im using a 2011 Macbook Pro, running lion 10.7.1, could it be a bug with lion, or a setting on Pro Tools 9.0.5?
cheers
__________________
Jeremy Whitehead
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2011, 10:58 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,869
Default Re: 24" Apple Cinema Display audio problem

The Pro Tools 9 Playback engine is set to...?

In Audio Midi Setup settings what device is set to play the system sound output?

If you are using an aggregate I/O device for the playback engine in Pro Tools 9. What us the audio output of that device set to?

Clicking around and finding these answers will help you see how to solve your problem. If you really don't need aggregate I/O then just set the playback engine to use whatever audio output device you want to directly.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2011, 04:34 AM
Jwhitehead333 Jwhitehead333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mullumbimby, Australia
Posts: 13
Default Re: 24" Apple Cinema Display audio problem

Hey Darryl,
Playback engine was set to 'display audio', i changed it to 'built in output'. This fixed the problem.
Thanks for your help, i guess it was pretty obvious, I had looked around in Pro Tools Preferences, but i found nothing.
I'm also new to Pro Tools and ACDs.
Again, thanks for the help.
__________________
Jeremy Whitehead
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple 24" Cinema Display worldclassmusician General Discussion 0 01-08-2010 01:49 PM
30" Apple Cinema Display OmniMedia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 06-28-2004 11:39 PM
Apple Cinema 22" Display Kenny Gioia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 19 02-16-2002 10:39 AM
Apple Cinema Display, Pro and Con GT40sc Tips & Tricks 6 01-07-2002 07:47 PM
22" LCD Apple Cinema Display SoundCell General Discussion 1 03-05-2001 03:21 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com