Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | Intro Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2018, 12:51 PM
Dr. October Dr. October is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
Default Transmitting Beat Clock

Can I slave my MPC1000 to PT First beat clock and sync start start/stop functionality by connecting MPC to computer via MIDI/USB Adapter?

Can beat clock even be transmitted via USB<->MIDI adapter?
And if so, does PT First allow this feature?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2018, 06:22 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,307
Default Re: Transmitting Beat Clock

two different things:

beat clock just sends timing information (bpms)

start/stop has nothing to do with beat clock. that would need MMC support.

I do not know if PT First supports either (it probably at least supports beat clock)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2024.6, HDX 2, MTRX/SPQ, RME BBF Pro + MADIface ProS1 x 2, Fire Max11 x 2, Dock, iPad Air5 Mac Mini 14,12, 12 core, macOS 13.6.7RAM 32GB, SSD 4TB, GPU 19 coreQNAP TVS-872XT 148TB TB3
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2018, 12:23 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,984
Default Transmitting Beat Clock

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
two different things:

beat clock just sends timing information (bpms)

start/stop has nothing to do with beat clock. that would need MMC support.


MIDI beat clock is bar|beat data sent at the tempo of the sequence. Most drum machines will chase this without the need for MMC or MTC.

I too don't know if First supports sending beat clock but I don't see why it would be removed since it's an old feature.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, OWC drive dock, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.8

Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.9, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2018, 12:36 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,984
Default Transmitting Beat Clock

Follow these instructions. They were taken from the note repeat website.
https://www.noterepeat.com/products/...o-tools#bc1000

Quote:
Using MIDI Beat Clock

Connect a MIDI output of your computer/interface to a MIDI input on your MPC.

On the MPC1000, press the Mode button + PAD 9.

Press [F2] for Sync.

Set the Sync In to whichever MIDI input you wish to use.

Turn Sync Out OFF.

Set your desired tempo in Pro Tools.

In Pro Tools, go to the Setup menu and choose MIDI > MIDI BEAT CLOCK.

Check the boxes for Enable MIDI Beat Clock and the MIDI output you want to send the signal through.

Press Play on your Pro Tools transport. Congratulations! Your MPC1000 should now be playing in sync with Pro Tools. NOTE: The MPC will not start with Pro Tools unless there is a loaded sequence containing at least 1 bar.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Mac Studio, 64GB RAM, 1 TB SSD, Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, OWC drive dock, Mac OS Monterey 12.6.8

Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.9, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Triton...is MIDI Clock difrnt than MIDI Beat Clock BookSix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-12-2006 12:24 AM
Beat Clock to MPC via MTP AV? Question Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 04-26-2002 09:32 AM
MTC Vs. Beat Clock fresh_meat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-02-2002 03:54 PM
Beat Clock TommyT Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 10-22-2001 08:23 PM
Beat clock yes, MTC NO!!!!!!!!!! izotropix Tips & Tricks 0 10-05-2000 08:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com