Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2022, 09:43 AM
pvaitkus86@gmail.com pvaitkus86@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Audio File Naming Issue

Ok, I'm stuck on an issue and looking for some help.

Normally, if I have a file called "Voice-01" and make an edit, it will change the file name to "Voice-01-01"

For some reason, in one specific session I'm working in... instead of going from "Voice-01" to "Voice-01-01" it changes the file name from "Voice-01" to "Voice-08" (not specifically 08 every time).

I work in big sessions with scripts, so If I'm looking for Voice-11 file, but have made an edit that changed it to Voice-19 or whatever... instead of just being able to find Voice-11, I have to search around and refer back the script to confirm Voice-19 is actually Voice-11.

What am I missing? Does it have to do with the fact the producer filed all the audio with a "-" instead of just calling them Voice1?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2022, 11:18 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,019
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

It should be sequential, but that sequence can include any versions of the name in memory. Check to see if your Clips bin is showing all clips including auto-created.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.6 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.5.1 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2022, 11:27 AM
pvaitkus86@gmail.com pvaitkus86@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

It does act in a sequential manner, but what is does do is erase the original number in the file name. (I am showing Auto-Created)

If the file is called "Tape-01" and I make an edit and there is not another "Tape-02" it will label it "Tape-02". But what I want it to do and how it is in my other sessions is I want pro tools to label it "Tape-01-01" or Tape-01_01.

This is messing with me because If I am looking at a script and want to find Tape24, if I have made an edit that that tape, it will name it something different, rather than just adding to the existing file name
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2022, 01:17 PM
nednednerb nednednerb is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 156
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

If I have one single clip:

x-1.wav

and split it,

it might show up as

(the first clip) x-1.wav
(the second clip) x-2.wav

and split x-2.wav

it might show up as

(the first clip) x-1.wav
(the second clip) x-2.wav
(the third clip) x-3.wav

Then I might delete a clip x-3.wav

Then I might split the remainder of x-2.wav

and it shows up as:

(the first clip) x-1.wav
(the second clip) x-2.wav
(the third clip) x-4.wav
((because x-3.wav was another clip it didn't get re-used... this is one possible scenario where the names for clips spread out))

Ultimately!!! The solution is to "Select all" > "Batch rename" > Replace name > xxx-## I have a few batch rename presets for a few common work situations.

VO-001 through VO-621 might get created. This is the ONLY way to assure truly sequential clip naming. "Auto-naming" will ALWAYS introduce some strangeness unless you literally separate clips in an absolutely linear careful progression. I need to match the linear order of clips with a sequential spreadsheet of short voiceovers. This is a really important issue to my work.
__________________
me: nednednerb / main gig: editing audio & testing software / 2nd gig: music software tutoring
software: Monterey 12.5.1 | Studio 2022.7 | Live 11 | iZotope RX, Neutron, Ozone | Arturia Pigments | Auto-Tune Unlimited | Dubler2
system: iMac (Retina 5K, 27", 2020) | 3.6 GHz 10-Core Intel i9 | 128 GB DDR4 | AMD Radeon Pro 5700 XT 16 GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2022, 06:42 AM
pvaitkus86@gmail.com pvaitkus86@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

Ok, I get this, but doesn't really solve my problem. I'm really not worried about sequential order, I just don't pro tools to rename the file "Voice-1" to "Voice-2" (or Voice-16/Voice23 or whatever) after I made an edit. In all my other sessions after making an edit to "Voice-1" it changes the file name to "Voice-1-2" rather than "Voice-16 or whatever". Sorry if I'm not articulating this correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2022, 06:49 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,019
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

I think if you look in your Audio Files folder, you'll find that it's not renaming the file. It names new clips that are created by editing a file on the timeline by adding -nn to the filename.

If your track name is Bob, the first file recorded on it will be named Bob_01. The second file recorded will be named Bob_02.

If you edit the first file on the timeline, it will produce clips - not new files on the drive, just new clips in the session - named Bob_01-01, Bob_01-02, Bob_01-03, etc.

If you edit the second file on the timeline, its clips will be named Bob_02-01, Bob_02-02, Bob_02-03, etc.

That's been true in PT since I started using it with version 3.1 in 1995. If you're seeing a different behavior, it's possible that something is wrong. But it's more likely that your Clips bin is not showing everything for one reason or another. An uncleared Find operation, a sort by something other than clip name, etc.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.6 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.5.1 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2022, 06:55 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by pvaitkus86@gmail.com View Post
Ok, I'm stuck on an issue and looking for some help.

Normally, if I have a file called "Voice-01" and make an edit, it will change the file name to "Voice-01-01"

For some reason, in one specific session I'm working in... instead of going from "Voice-01" to "Voice-01-01" it changes the file name from "Voice-01" to "Voice-08" (not specifically 08 every time).

I work in big sessions with scripts, so If I'm looking for Voice-11 file, but have made an edit that changed it to Voice-19 or whatever... instead of just being able to find Voice-11, I have to search around and refer back the script to confirm Voice-19 is actually Voice-11.

What am I missing? Does it have to do with the fact the producer filed all the audio with a "-" instead of just calling them Voice1?
It’s because you’re naming your files with -01. Pro Tools thinks it’s already added the -numeric suffix to a new clip and is replacing it. If your file name were anything other than Voice-01 to begin with, you wouldn’t be seeing this issue. For example. Original file Voice_01. Edited original. Voice_01-01, Voice_01-02, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2022, 06:59 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 4,019
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
It’s because you’re naming your files with -01.
For sure. If you're manually renaming the files themselves to something non-standard, expect chaos.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

PT 2022.6 Ultimate | Clarett+ 8Pre | macOS 12.5.1 on a MacBook Pro M1 Max
PT 2022.5 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10 latest, HP Z440 64GB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2022, 08:25 AM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 916
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

Yes the issue is probably the use of a "-". That is how PT names auto created clips. If it's worked for you in the past I can't explain that. But I usually use an underscore or simply a space.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2022, 10:11 AM
pvaitkus86@gmail.com pvaitkus86@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Re: Audio File Naming Issue

Thanks all... Yup it's the "-" in the file name. Will be telling our producers not to file tape with "-" in the name.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Naming of clips when audio file ends with a number John Link macOS 5 06-02-2013 04:36 PM
Elastic Audio file/region naming jem777 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 06-05-2009 04:25 AM
File naming? soundguydave Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 09-23-2008 06:15 PM
AUDIO FILE NAMING vjk Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-13-2007 07:51 PM
file naming ofsaints Post - Surround - Video 2 11-28-2006 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com