Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2021, 11:15 AM
riddlemeS4m riddlemeS4m is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

Hello,

I'm currently a music student having to take music class virtually. Oftentimes, this requires me to share my screen so that my instructor can see my ProTools project. Ideally, I'd like him to be able to hear my project without me having to bounce an mp3 and send it to him. My instructor uses a mac and he has no problem sharing screen and audio through ProTools, but for a PC I can't find any solutions. I obviously have been using the share sound button before sharing my screen. I only have two ASIOs, ASIO4ALL and ASIO Helix (my interface). ProTools won't play audio through ASIO4ALL even if I'm not in Zoom. I wonder if there is a way to loopback audio through the Helix.

Does anyone have some good resources for how to share Protools audio over Zoom?
__________________
Sincerely,

Sam R.

Windows 10 Home
Intel Core i7-1065G7, 1.30 GHz
12.00 GB RAM
Pro Tools 2020.12
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2021, 12:12 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,874
Default Re: Sharing ProTools audio over Zoom on Windows

Voicemeeter has virtual audio cables that can accomplish what you want to do.

Another alternative is an interface with Loopback.

Personally, while I have Loopback capability with TotalMix from RME (I have a UFX), I went with physical cabling:

Onboard soundcard mini stereo out to ¼ jacks into Input 3/4 and a PT stereo track with Input 3/4, set to Input.

Mic comes in to Input 1 and Mono track in PT with Input 1.

Pre Fader Send from the PT track with the mic signal and any other track I want to send to my browser (Zoom is a browser based two way audio app) going to Output 5 and to Output 5 on my interface.

¼ jack cable from output 5 on my Interface to Line In on my onboard soundcard.

In Control Panel>Sound>Recording Tab the Line In is designated as Default (there are some other settings, too detailed for this).

My browser, Microsoft's Edge Chromium, uses the onboard soundcard and all monitoring is done through Pro Tools.

The great thing is, no matter how you accomplish the signal routing from and to your browser into and out of Pro Tools, that routing is good for any of the browser based two way audio apps, like Zoom, Zencastr, Skype, Source-Connect Now or Cleanfeed to name a few. Just make a Template in Pro Tools with the routing done there and you're good to go.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2022, 09:20 AM
jrthomas1993@gmail.com jrthomas1993@gmail.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Location: Bangor
Posts: 1
Default Re: Sharing ProTools audio over Zoom on Windows

Is it possible to have a Picture diagram of this?

This would be very useful @The Weed

Thanks in Advanced :)

JT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2022, 05:18 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,577
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

AudioMovers Listento plug in works great. It can be rented too, $9 a year according to the site.
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2022, 06:27 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,874
Default Re: Sharing ProTools audio over Zoom on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrthomas1993@gmail.com View Post
Is it possible to have a Picture diagram of this?

This would be very useful @The Weed

Thanks in Advanced :)

JT
You've got email.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2022, 07:05 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,463
Default Re: Sharing ProTools audio over Zoom on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
...¼ jack cable from output 5 on my Interface to Line In on my onboard soundcard...
Onboard soundcard? The motherboard line-in? Is stereo Pro Tools out to Zoom possible? Thnx!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2022, 07:35 PM
DontLetMeDrown DontLetMeDrown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 343
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

I've found 2 solutions for this.

1) Install the free Image Line Fruity Loops Demo. The app can be uninstalled separately from the free ASIO driver inside the Windows' "Add Remove programs" menu.

2) Buy and install Cubase

After doing either of those, inside the Pro Tools Playback Engine Settings, choose either "FL Studio ASIO" or "Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver" for the engine. When using these settings, you can only use two inputs and two outputs. Even though I have 24 ins/outs, can't use them all while using this driver.

After switching to one of those drivers, doesn't matter which app you start first. I launch Zoom, then PT, then from inside Zoom, share screen and be 110% sure to click the "Share Computer Audio" checkbox. Now go back to PT and make sure your callers can hear playback.
Attached Images
File Type: png Playback Engine.png (47.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2022, 08:00 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,874
Default Re: Sharing ProTools audio over Zoom on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
Onboard soundcard? The motherboard line-in? Is stereo Pro Tools out to Zoom possible? Thnx!
I'm not sure if it is or not. What I can tell you is that I'm sending a mono signal to a 3.5 jack into my onboard soundcard. But, in Control Panel>Sound>Recording Tab, it shows a Left And Right Balance under Properties>Level>Balance. Whether using two mono cables and sending a left/right signal to a stereo 3.5 mini jack into the Line In on the onboard soundcard would result in a true stereo signal going to a browser app OR using a stereo Send out of Pro Tools to a pair of Outputs on an interface and Looping back that signal to a pair of Inputs and setting those Inputs as the source in the Recording Tab would result in a true stereo signal going out through the app, I can't say.

Of course, the interface's driver would have to be multi-client. And the browser app at your end and the other end would have to be able to send and receive a true stereo signal. That signal would also have to be of high quality and most browser apps aren't known for their high quality audio. Personally, when I'm being directed via browser app, it's not "mission critical" audio, but only so the remote producer can hear and direct my read, so no need to worry about stereo. I'll be sending a high quality, usually 24/48 Wave file to the client when the session is over.



Have a look at Sonobus.net. It's a multi-platform (Mac, Windows and Linux), high quality audio sharing app similar to Source-Connect and it's free. It may do everything you want a browser app to do and much more.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2022, 11:34 AM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,906
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

I prefer to use an audio interface with Loopback built-in, but if your audio interface does not have Loopback, I would go with the old-school method already mentioned.

Simply run a dual 1/4" to stereo 1/8" cable FROM the Helix main outputs TO the 1/8" input on your computer.

Your instructor is probably using the app Loopback or perhaps Soundflower or Blackhole, because you can't do this directly on Mac either.
__________________
Brian

Windows 11 Pro | macOS 12
Pro Tools 2021
benonistudio.com
Youtube Channel - benonistudio
Plugin Deals
@benonistudio
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2022, 03:11 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,463
Default Re: Sharing Pro Tools audio over Zoom on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benoni View Post
I prefer to use an audio interface with Loopback built-in...
Can you explain how to set this up with loopback (or perhaps link to a help page or tutorial)? I have a Focusrite LS56 with loopback, but I'm a loopback newbie Thanks!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win11 / Intel 11th Gen i9 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win10 / older HP ProBook with i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Zoom meeting and screen sharing PT audio jpriggy Pro Tools 2018 34 08-31-2022 10:55 AM
Pro Tools Audio over Zoom seanmccoy Windows 6 05-28-2020 07:18 PM
Zoom H4 as USB Audio I/O Interface for Pro Tools? dogsbody 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-21-2009 10:42 PM
Sharing an external drive between mac and windows danisrael 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-17-2006 09:53 AM
Sharing HDD with Windows & Mac Ndless Nite 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-26-2006 07:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com