Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 07-30-2022, 10:31 PM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 422
Default Re: MIDI Weirdness Persists in 2022.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mountclear View Post
I experienced this midi issue in .7 in a new session.

The work around was to change the track to samples instead of tick.

I went back to.4 it seems to be the more stable of the bunch.

This is getting so old.
Thanks for the update. What steps did you take to repro?

I was finally able to repro not being able to select a MIDI note in a new session. It took a while though.
It was after using the Space Clips function (just after quantizing a group of clips).
I was able to quantize, select & trim notes every which way but loose before that.

I also discovered that by simply sliding the clip over a bit and back into place (in Grid Mode) I could then select & move the notes again.

Let me know if that works easily enough for now.
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.9|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory

Last edited by take77; 07-31-2022 at 11:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 08-11-2022, 08:11 PM
pherzfeld pherzfeld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 40
Default 2022.7.0 MIDI Problems

in 2022.6 and 2022.7 I have had midi issues. Everything will work fine for hours. Suddenly I can't move midi notes, delete them, change velocity, etc. I can however create new midi notes, but once they are in place they can't be modified. Has anyone experienced this? Im not a midi expert - its possible I am accidentally activating some midi lock or something, but I don't think so. Restarting Pro Tools fixes the issue for a while.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 08-12-2022, 11:37 AM
Hanch Hanch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1
Default Re: 2022.6 MIDI Quantize/Selection Weirdness BUG

On both 2022.6 and 2022.7 if I option+shift+3 to consolidate and create a new MIDI clip in the Edit window, the notes become no longer selectable or movable in the MIDI pane.

Also it seems that the first note of midi clips still seems to be getting cut off when I move clips around or duplicate them. I thought all of this was supposed to be fixed in 2022.6.

This is super disappointing that after 10 years, Pro Tools still does not have a reliable or even workable MIDI editing interface.

As someone mentioned before it is super embarrassing when you are working with a client and it seems like you either A. don't know how to operate the software or B. you work with faulty software.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 08-16-2022, 01:58 AM
bernstudios bernstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: bern
Posts: 51
Default Weirdest Midi thing ever..

Did I miss a new feature or is this a bug; when I move midi from one track to another I can`t edit it anymore..
super weirdo
thx for help this is kinda urgent

Protools 2022.7 on a M1 Macbook pro with 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 08-16-2022, 02:33 AM
take77 take77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 422
Default Re: Weirdest Midi thing ever..

Yes this is a confirmed bug in 2022.6/7 that is affecting others on both Mac & Windows.
Hopefully, it will get fixed soon. But for good measure, please submit a case regarding your issue.

As a workaround when this happens:

Temporarily switch the track to sample mode, carry out your edit and then switch back to tick mode.
(Assuming your were in tick mode when the bug occurred)

I experience the bug in tick mode but very rarely in a new session.
If notes do become stuck, switching to sample mode enables me to move/trim the notes. After which, I can switch back to tick mode.

Try this before restarting the session. Otherwise, you MIGHT get an error when closing the session and lose 5 minutes of work (or whatever your backup is set too). That's happened to me only once so far.
__________________
A rough sea makes a smooth sailor.

Pro Tools Studio 2022.9|Windows 10 21H1|Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)|Dell Inspiron 3650|Intel i5 6th gen|16GB RAM|Samsung T5 SSD's|Hitachi|Touro HDD

Toontrack EZdrummer 3|Steven Slate Drums 5.5 + Blackbird Studio EX|Spectrasonics Trilian|Native Instruments Studio Drummer|Guitar Rig 6 Pro|Hybrid Keys

Waves|SSL Native|Fabfilter|Softube|Soundtoys|Nomad Factory

Last edited by take77; 08-16-2022 at 03:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 08-16-2022, 03:33 AM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 951
Default Re: Weirdest Midi thing ever..

Quote:
Originally Posted by take77 View Post
Yes this is a confirmed bug in 2022.6/7 that is affecting others on both Mac & Windows.
Hopefully, it will get fixed soon. But for good measure, please submit a case regarding your issue.

As a workaround when this happens:

Temporarily switch the track to sample mode, carry out your edit and then switch back to tick mode.
(Assuming your were in tick mode when the bug occurred)

I experience the bug in tick mode but very rarely in a new session.
If notes do become stuck, switching to sample mode enables me to move/trim the notes. After which, I can switch back to tick mode.

Try this before restarting the session. Otherwise, you MIGHT get an access violation when closing the session and lose 5 minutes of work (or whatever your backup is set too). That's happened to me only once so far.
Thanks for all the info you provided. I went back to 22.7 after reading your posts. I had rolled back to 22.5 after encountering the midi editing issue, but I'm now able to do normal midi editing in 22.7. I hope it does get fixed soon though (without breaking anything else).
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 08-16-2022, 09:17 AM
RHKfilm RHKfilm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: California
Posts: 2
Default Re: MIDI Weirdness Persists in 2022.7

Is there a consistent phrase/ bug tracker at Avid that we can use to make sure all of our support requests are recognized and collated? I am troubled by the same issues and would like the MIDI weirdness addressed ASAP. When filing a support ticket, what words will they readily recognize?
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 08-16-2022, 11:49 AM
massivekerry massivekerry is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 302
Default Re: MIDI Weirdness Persists in 2022.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by RHKfilm View Post
Is there a consistent phrase/ bug tracker at Avid that we can use to make sure all of our support requests are recognized and collated? I am troubled by the same issues and would like the MIDI weirdness addressed ASAP. When filing a support ticket, what words will they readily recognize?
I wish there was, in fact, some sort of bug log/tracker/reporter. Against my instinct, I opened a support case for this issue (because not being able to edit MIDI completely screws with my income-earning ability), and although I was very clear that this was a new issue that started with 2022.6, that other people here were noticing it, and that I had done all of the standard 101-level, and 201-level troubleshooting on my system (which is still unfortunately an old-school cheesegrater running Mojave, so they jumped to "not-supported/tested system") I still got the "trying to help me fix the issues with my system" "support" treatment, which of course, didn't solve it, and just cost me time that I was not being paid for, but that the Support Techs were being paid to recommend and review. I just wanted to add my voice to the chorus, so that maybe they'd prioritize this bug.
__________________
Kerry Smith
http://apothekerry.com

12-core 3.46GHz Cheese Grater, 64GB RAM, HD | Native, HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 08-16-2022, 02:55 PM
Downtown_BE Downtown_BE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: switzerland
Posts: 192
Default Re: Weirdest Midi thing ever..

ok could you check this: just close and reopen the session - I know it sounds crazy but for me it fixed the problem (at least in the song I`m working on right now)
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 08-16-2022, 03:02 PM
lesbrunn's Avatar
lesbrunn lesbrunn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 951
Default Re: Weirdest Midi thing ever..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Downtown_BE View Post
ok could you check this: just close and reopen the session - I know it sounds crazy but for me it fixed the problem (at least in the song I`m working on right now)
I noticed something similar. Before I read take77's posts, i found that a session in which midi notes were fixed rigid was now normal. I could now edit the midi. But I wasn't having any of what seemed like a fluke. I still rolled back to 22.5.
There's definitely something to what you are saying.
__________________
MSI Pro Z690-A | i712700k @ 5.1GHz | 64GB DDR4 | 8TB NVMe /14TB WD Black | Audient iD14 | PT 2022.7 | Win 11 Pro | Tons of VIs and plugins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't select midi notes after trimming midi clip jpbm22 Pro Tools 2 08-28-2022 03:53 PM
Quantizing is muting midi notes rickbail Pro Tools 12 3 10-09-2018 05:47 AM
mass select of notes in midi editor stainless MIDI 4 08-20-2010 08:00 PM
MIDI Select/Split Notes - Assertion in PT8 gonzolagonda Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-18-2009 05:34 AM
MIDI "Select notes" tool problem GeneOuse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 04-27-2005 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com