Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2003, 03:30 AM
AEXXL AEXXL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: berlin germany
Posts: 27
Default vocAlign?!?!

sorry guys i know this question is a little dumb but i need to know how vocalign works properly i couldnt figure it out, any help would be very useful and id be very thankful..bye
__________________
can u still just listen to music? u probably lose something when u do music...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2003, 06:59 AM
engineerjoel engineerjoel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 18
Default Re: vocAlign?!?!

VocalAlign is a wonderful plug-in and is extremely easy to use. Say, your doubling your lead vocal, but the second pass doesn't sync up with the original vocal pass.

Before processing, you need to make sure that both tracks (or regions) are EXACTLY the same length. Hint: vocalalign works best and is extremely accurate when processing smaller regions (say :20 sec regions at a time) rather than trying to process an entire 3:00 min songs.

Step 1) Select the region that will sever as your guide track (in our example, vocal pass 1).
Then, in vocalAlign, select the GUIDE button and then select CAPTURE.

Step 2) Select the region that will server as you dub track (in our example, the vocal double).
Then, in vocalalign, selct the DUB button and then select CAPTURE.

Step 3) Now assign a destination.

Step 4) hit PROCESS.

BTW, just because the plug-in is called VocalAlign doesn't mean that it will only work with on vocal. Vocalalign works great when doubling Acoustic Rhythm parts or Ele Rhythm parts. Doubling the Gtr Solo, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2003, 07:07 AM
dBHEAD dBHEAD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 678
Default Re: vocAlign?!?!

If it's the same version I have, it's actually very simple.

I am assuming you have already recorded the audio you want to "match up" to the original audio. I am also assuming that VocAlign is active.

Okay...

STEP ONE: Use the selector tool in PT to designate the section of the "original" audio you want to replace. Leave a little "padding" at the beginning and end of the selected area. By padding I mean an extra quarter second or so. In other words, you don't have to be super precise, but err on the side of having a bit to much audio designated rather than too little.

Done that? Okay, now it's CONTROL-SHIFT-7 simultaneously and you've just designated that section of audio as the one for the replacement audio to follow.

STEP TWO: Go to the track which has the "replacement" audio and, again, use the selector to designate the replacement.

Done that? Okay, now it's CONTROL-SHIFT-8 and you've just designated that section of audio as the one to line itself up with the original.

STEP THREE: Call up the VocAlign screen with CONTROL-SHIFT 9 and, to make things easy, hit the SPOT button.

Essentially, you're done. VocAlign will have created a new audio region from the replacement audio which will line up with the original. Of course, there are some other controls on the VocAlign screen for fine tuning, but most of the time that simple procedure has worked for me.

I have found that sometimes you need to work with smaller sections of audio to keep things totally together.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2003, 09:40 AM
PDupre PDupre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Cohasset, MA 02025
Posts: 384
Default Re: vocAlign?!?!

Also very valuable for aligning kick and bass! Very cool.
__________________
www.peterdupre.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-28-2003, 01:34 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: vocAlign?!?!

REALLY?

[img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]

Does that work on rock music?

Or are you talking about Dance / groove based material?

HIT ME ONE MORE TIME!

[img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vocalign help Raoul23 Pro Tools 10 8 10-11-2012 10:25 AM
VocAlign Project vs. VocAlign Pro apoc64 Post - Surround - Video 3 02-27-2012 10:53 AM
vocalign kidboy500 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 08-30-2010 11:08 PM
Vocalign LE with PT HD 8.0.4? sean shannon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 18 08-15-2010 05:47 PM
VocALign Pro Or VocALign Project? Mark 66 Post - Surround - Video 3 09-18-2006 09:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com