Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2010, 07:43 PM
digidub digidub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 82
Default "Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

Hey all, I've been getting a strange error tonight. It occurs anytime I try to move a Quicktime Movie onto a second display. The error is:

"Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

I hit ok and then Pro Tools just crashes.

I've gotten this error in the past, as well as the "Bus Error," during heavy sessions, but tonight is the first time the errors are easily repeatable. Strange because yesterday this was not happening. i even made a new session with nothing but the video in the session, and moving the ref to the seond display causes the error. Any suggestions? DigiTechSupport?

PT 8.0.1cs3
10.5.8
Mac Pro 2x3.0gHz
6GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-19-2010, 05:38 AM
Ryan.Drum Ryan.Drum is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 1
Default Re: "Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

Hi,

Also having the same error, however it occurs when I attempt to import WAV files that I recorded on another session.

Please help!


iMac i5 2.8GHz
4MB RAM
Mac OS Snow Leopard
Pro Tools 7.0.4 LE
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-19-2010, 07:46 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 966
Default Re: "Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

Digidub, I recommend upgrading to 8.0.4.

Ryan, I am amazed you can even run PT LE 7.0.4 on Snow Leopard.

This error is apparently related to how PT manages the computer memory, so potentially could be Memory related.
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-20-2010, 10:43 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: "Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidub View Post
Hey all, I've been getting a strange error tonight. It occurs anytime I try to move a Quicktime Movie onto a second display. The error is:

"Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

I hit ok and then Pro Tools just crashes.

I've gotten this error in the past, as well as the "Bus Error," during heavy sessions, but tonight is the first time the errors are easily repeatable. Strange because yesterday this was not happening. i even made a new session with nothing but the video in the session, and moving the ref to the seond display causes the error. Any suggestions? DigiTechSupport?

PT 8.0.1cs3
10.5.8
Mac Pro 2x3.0gHz
6GB RAM
How is that second monitor connected? Does this happen with every video or just this particular one? What format is the video (size, compression type, etc.)?

Have you tried 8.0.4 yet?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-20-2010, 01:52 PM
digidub digidub is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 82
Default Re: "Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

I havne't upgraded yet, but I plan to this week since I just finished a project.

I still get this error randomly with any session (seems to happen more regularly the more intensive the session - tons of edits, automation, etc), but for that particular session back when I posted, I think I got around it by reoutputting the video track(s) in FCP before importing, but I'll have to dbl chk and get back to you.

I have only experienced video-related error with those videos, other videos I've had no issues.

It's a second DVI output on my vid card.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-21-2010, 01:09 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: "Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

Quote:
Originally Posted by digidub View Post
I havne't upgraded yet, but I plan to this week since I just finished a project.

I still get this error randomly with any session (seems to happen more regularly the more intensive the session - tons of edits, automation, etc), but for that particular session back when I posted, I think I got around it by reoutputting the video track(s) in FCP before importing, but I'll have to dbl chk and get back to you.

I have only experienced video-related error with those videos, other videos I've had no issues.

It's a second DVI output on my vid card.
If reexporting the video helps, and you seem to only have problems with those specific videos, I would think there's some kind of corruption in the video itself. If the reexport is using the exact same settings as the original, then corruption would almost assuredly be the case. If you're using different settings, it may be a bug or other issue with the app creating the file or possibly with the codec being used.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem Ask: "segmentation fault main thread address 0x0" GodwinLee macOS 0 11-14-2013 08:54 PM
segmentation fault in thread "main thread",at address 0x0 when import session data cheney5 Post - Surround - Video 2 05-24-2012 04:00 AM
"Segmentation Fault" in thread"Main Thread" at address 0x0 refuu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-13-2011 05:18 AM
"Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread" WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-17-2011 10:40 AM
Segment Fault in thread "MainThread" at address 0x0 russ russell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 10-23-2010 12:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com