Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2016, 11:23 AM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default More Latency...wtf??

so, before everything...

Late 2013 iMac OSX 10.10.5 PT 11.3.1 Apollo Twin duo Thunderbolt

ok...

buffer setting set to 64, delay compensation is ON:
i record (as i have since pro tools 5 lol) mic input on a bus, out to an audio track.
NO LATENCY in headphones during recording...playback?? 100ms of latency....EVERYTIME.

buffer setting set to 64, delay compensation OFF:
i record (as i have since pro tools 5 lol) mic input on a bus, out to an audio track.
NO LATENCY in headphones during recording...playback?? NO LATENCY!! I drag it down to its proper track, say its a punch in, THE SURROUNDING AUDIO REGIONS are out of time/sync...however, the newly recorded take is in time/sync....WTF??

i've found it easier to record with delay compensation ON, and just nudge the audio, but this is NOT how it should be. Hell, with PT 10 I had ZERO issues with this workflow...why now??

yes, i have plug ins on inserts of the (Audio) tracks i move the recorded audio onto...i've ALWAYS done this..

NO, I'm not using UAD delay heavy plugins, in fact, pro tools shows 0 delay issues..I'm using SLATE for this session...NO, not the VTM...but VMR...

I've even removed all plug ins from the aux track, as well as the audio track which is ARMed...same problem..so it's not plug in induced.

YES, the output is going straight to the master outs...NO there is nothing on my master fader...

this is driving me nuts...please help...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2016, 01:42 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,771
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr609 View Post
i record (as i have since pro tools 5 lol) mic input on a bus, out to an audio track.
I'm guessing you mean via aux track.
Why this routing?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2016, 11:49 PM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

Cuz sometimes I like to print a little light pitch correction from the door. Especially for those pitchy singers.

U got any ideas, or picking my brain??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2016, 12:19 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,771
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr609 View Post
U got any ideas, or picking my brain??
Steady, man. You might think that the latency problem could have something to do with the routing, couldn't you? Did you check?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2016, 06:38 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,582
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

Post the session file so someone can try to reproduce.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2016, 08:17 AM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

Yes I've checked. This only started in pro tools11. Never had this problem before. I've cut Bobby Valentino, the close, and Rico love all this way. Obviously using pro tools 9 & 10. But when I open my session template in 11, latency ensues.

I'll upload a session template inna little bit. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2016, 09:27 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,622
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

How much latency does the Pitch Correction plug-in have?
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2016, 09:55 AM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

Pro tools says 0. It is auto tune live in this session. But even removing it, say issue. Mind u, no latency during recording. Only afterwards during playback....

Hmm...interesting, now its calling me a liar. day is at 2048 now...still shouldn't ADC....u know, compensate??

here's a link to the session..

https://www.dropbox.com/s/634nnsfmsy...ssion.ptx?dl=0

Last edited by Mr609; 12-30-2016 at 10:08 AM. Reason: added session link
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2016, 05:19 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 36,859
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

Try killing all aux sends and see if the latency goes away. Especially if you have a send without a destination.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, Presonus Studio 1810C
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


I started in this business with nothing..........and I have most of it left

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2017, 08:13 AM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: More Latency...wtf??

All sends have a destination. Download the session and tak a look.

Oh. Happy new year guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI recorded latency after playing with no latency genebackmusic Pro Tools 12 8 01-19-2016 02:36 PM
Automation latency when using plugins that have long latency pyrodave Pro Tools 11 2 01-27-2014 11:22 AM
omni/native latency vs mbox pro latency chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 34 03-30-2012 07:24 AM
Latency Issues - changing latency has no effect Kippa-Dee Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 07-15-2010 08:39 PM
Unity DS-1 and Latency... Anyone else feel the latency makes the Plugin unusable? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-26-2001 04:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com