Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-19-2017, 11:37 AM
climber climber is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 392
Default Re: iLok "support"

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
The first thing I did years back when I got my 11R/PT10/iLok bundle was to create my iLok account, register said iLok and pay the $30 via PayPal for ZDT. Done within 5 minutes. That $30 is the least expensive thing you will ever buy for your daw and will sure save one a lot of hassles trying to scare up license assets from a developer on the weekend.

Another way to look at it: what's easier - dealing with one point of contact for this or dealing with a couple of dozen developers? I'll take the first scenario thank you very much.
absolutely!!! had ZDT since it first became available. $30/year is peanuts.
__________________
__________________
Al Hospers
bass, vocal, composer, engineer

CleverSounds Recording

------------------------------------------------------
OS X Catalina, Late 2013 MacPro, 6 core, 64 GB RAM, Orion Studio , PT2021, Slate Raven MTi2, ISA428, ADL600, Distressor, Grace 501, Dimedio, Obsidian, One LA, BAC500, Harrison 32 EQ, UAD2 OCTO, Focal 6 be, Auratones...
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 06-19-2017, 12:03 PM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,201
Default Re: iLok "support"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post

The safest place is on Pace's server. I move every license I don't need to use there and everything when I'm taking my iLock to another studio. I also have TLC on the two machines here.


I do the same thing : if I'm moving between locations, I remove every license from the iLock, and deposit them in my account, before I leave.

The whole time I'm in transit, the iLock is just a $30 piece of plastic.

When I reach my destination, I move whichever licenses I need to use back on to my iLock.

Personally, I don't use TLC for admittedly tinfoil-hat reasons :

In the highly unlikely event that Pace were to go out of business (and I've seen way too many companies appear to be doing great business, when in fact they are already in a legal entanglement behind the scenes - only to cease trading completely, overnight), I want my perpetual licenses to remain perpetual - not stuck in a situation where after 90 days they need to be re-synced to a system that no longer exists.

Should such a situation ever arise, I'm sure any (surviving) software vendors would work out a means of getting new licenses to existing customers who had been effected, but that could get messy, and take a while to rectify.

Unlikely, sure, but just because I'm paranoid, doesn't mean they're not out to get me .



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 06-19-2017, 12:45 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,436
Default Re: iLok "support"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extreme Mixing View Post
I bought ZDT coverage for 2 iLoks. I can only put TLC on one of them. Is that normal???
It requires iLock 2 or 3. I have it on two iLock 2s.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 06-23-2017, 10:12 AM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: iLok "support"

So wait. Can u not grab another ilok, and re download ur licenses?? I never lost an ilok. I'm aware of he ilok insurance. But I thought one time I was out wit my laptop, forgot a couolenwaves licenses were on my iMac, I could download those licenses away from my iMac to my ilok. But when I got back to my iMac (obviously) the licenses would then be only ilok and by my Mac. Maybe I'm totally lost in ur situation. And if ur only paying $2 for coffee, ur ONLY drinking brown water. Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 06-23-2017, 02:06 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,828
Default Re: iLok "support"

Nope, you can only put each license instance on one I-lok.
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 06-23-2017, 03:14 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 955
Default Re: iLok "support"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr609 View Post
So wait. Can u not grab another ilok, and re download ur licenses?? I never lost an ilok. I'm aware of he ilok insurance. But I thought one time I was out wit my laptop, forgot a couolenwaves licenses were on my iMac, I could download those licenses away from my iMac to my ilok. But when I got back to my iMac (obviously) the licenses would then be only ilok and by my Mac. Maybe I'm totally lost in ur situation. And if ur only paying $2 for coffee, ur ONLY drinking brown water. Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Some iLok protected software will allow you to store iLok licenses on your computer rather than the iLok USB dongle. It is a decision made by the software developer as to whether you can store licenses on an iLok and your computer (i.e. Softube says yes, Avid says no), and from what I gather you get two of those licenses. The rub is, there is no ZDT or TLC for licenses stored on your computer. If your hard drive dies, or your computer is stolen, etc... your software licenses go with it.

iLok with ZDT and TLC is a no brainer, really. Considering how instrumental items like Pro Tools are to income, etc. $30 a year is one of the cheapest insurance policies out there.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 06-23-2017, 04:26 PM
Mr609's Avatar
Mr609 Mr609 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 48
Default Re: iLok "support"

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
Some iLok protected software will allow you to store iLok licenses on your computer rather than the iLok USB dongle. It is a decision made by the software developer as to whether you can store licenses on an iLok and your computer (i.e. Softube says yes, Avid says no), and from what I gather you get two of those licenses. The rub is, there is no ZDT or TLC for licenses stored on your computer. If your hard drive dies, or your computer is stolen, etc... your software licenses go with it.



iLok with ZDT and TLC is a no brainer, really. Considering how instrumental items like Pro Tools are to income, etc. $30 a year is one of the cheapest insurance policies out there.


Makes sense


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
"Error, missing ILok authorization for "Pro Tools 10". johkav macOS 4 09-10-2012 08:13 AM
"Factory Promo UB" - "Eventide" - iLok license - What plug-in is this? Intini Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 08-31-2012 08:27 PM
"Digidesign" Folder not shown in "Application Support" jollyboss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-01-2012 02:12 AM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com