Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 07-15-2005, 02:19 AM

Default Building a \"DUC\" computer: I have some questions..

Hi everyone! Protools noob here, so please bear with me!

I am building a "DUC" HD3 system based on all the great suggestions I have found here, but I have some questions that I haven't found the answers for yet. First of all here is my system (all from Newegg):

Motherboard: ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe Socket 478 Intel 875P ATX Intel Motherboard
CPU: intel Pentium 4 640 Prescott 800MHz FSB LGA 775 EM64T Processor Model BX80547PG3200F
Ram: gigaram 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered DUAL CHANNEL System
Memory Model GR1DD8T-K2GB/400/2.5
System Drive: Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 ST3200822AS 200GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive
Work Drives: 2 Western Digital Raptor WD360GD 36.7GB 10,000 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive
Video Card: MSI NX6200AX-TD128 Geforce 6200 128MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card

Does this look right? (I have had good luck with the Gigaram.)
What is the max sample rate I can get out of this system?
What sample rate do you guys record at using this type system?
Do you disable the onboard sound in the BIOS? If not, is the system sound useful? I haven't bought LCD monitors because if system sound is useful then I want built in LCD speakers.
Why is everyone using two non-RAID working drives? Something in Protools? Would 3 be faster? 4?
Should I use the onboard LAN or a USB lan or a PCI LAN card to interface with a Control 24?
Any issues with a Control 24 and this system?

Thanks!!
Old 07-15-2005, 08:45 AM

Default Re: Building a \"DUC\" computer: I have some questions..

Your Mainboard has an older Socket (478) than your CPU (775).