Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-18-2021, 06:18 PM
Tryingtowork Tryingtowork is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Interface not recognized?

Question folks, I'm using a zoom Podtrak P8 as an interface and PT isn't recognizing it at all in the playback engine menu.
-I'm on Version 2020.11.0
-I have my default audio input/output in windows set to the P8
-I set the playback engine to "Default Windows Media device"
-When I record PT uses the computer mic and plays back on the computer speakers

Anyone have an idea what the problem may be?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2021, 06:50 AM
sw rec sw rec is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,776
Default Re: Interface not recognized?

It’s actually doing exactly what you told it to do! Make your onboard soundcard the default playback device for Windows audio. Your P8 needs to be exclusively available for PT. Pro Tools, especially on Windows, doesn’t like to share hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2021, 11:08 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,581
Default Re: Interface not recognized?

Does the P8 have an ASIO driver? Besides leaving it exclusively for Pro Tools, on Windows, you need an ASIO driver. Alternatively, you can try ASIO4ALL, but it's a Band-Aid.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2021, 11:31 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,279
Default Re: Interface not recognized?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tryingtowork View Post
Question folks, I'm using a zoom Podtrak P8 as an interface and PT isn't recognizing it at all in the playback engine menu.
-I'm on Version 2020.11.0
-I have my default audio input/output in windows set to the P8
-I set the playback engine to "Default Windows Media device"
-When I record PT uses the computer mic and plays back on the computer speakers

Anyone have an idea what the problem may be?
Maybe I have an idea unfortunately I am on Mac

But I am thinking you do not want the playback engine set to " Default Windows Media device" (which I am guessing is your computer, and why it is recording and playing back on the computer)
You want the playback engine set to the P8

Also from the P8 manual it looks like it will only transmit 2 channels of USB to the computer . (don't know if this is an issue for you or not)

To get the P8 to show as a "playback engine" option
(at least this is how it works on Mac) Hold the (N) key down while launching Pro Tools and while launching it should stop with a window opening asking if you want P8 as a new playback engine Or it will at least show in the playback engine button dropdown as an option ,,,, select it and PT will close ..Relaunch it and it should be the selected playback engine
__________________
System :
Avid Carbon interface , PT Ultimate 2021.3 .....Mid 2020 iMac 27" 3.8GHz 8-core i7 10th Gen processor,,128GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory,,2TB SSD storage,,Radeon Pro 5700 XT with 16GB of GDDR6 memory,, on Catalina 10.15.7

"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2021, 01:04 PM
Tryingtowork Tryingtowork is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Interface not recognized?

Thanks for the responses folks. Unfortunately I cannot select the p8 under playback engine because it doesn't show up. When I get back to the computer I'll try what K Roche suggested. Also when I checked zooms website it said no driver downloads necessary for the p8, sorry The Weed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2021, 04:26 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,581
Default Re: Interface not recognized?

Pro Tools on Windows usually requires an ASIO driver be used. If there is no ASIO driver, try ASIO4ALL.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-29-2021, 12:54 PM
Tryingtowork Tryingtowork is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: Interface not recognized?

So thanks, but that also didn't help. What I did find out tho is that the P8 is an MME interface rather than ASIO. That option isn't even in the playback engine menu. Is there a way PT recognizes MME interfaces?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2021, 04:50 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,581
Default Re: Interface not recognized?

Here is some Windows driver information.

And here is some information on ASIO4ALL.

If you can't get the P8 to work with Pro Tools, try it with Reaper - it has a 60 day trial.

Realistically, if you want to work with a mainstream DAW on Windows, you need an interface with an ASIO driver.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
interface not recognized in PT 12.5 JBtech Third Party Interfaces 5 07-28-2016 05:25 AM
C/24 with 003 interface not recognized. Acustiman ICON & C|24 2 06-11-2014 12:56 PM
Interface not recognized. chainboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-24-2011 01:38 PM
003 interface is not recognized by PT9 Shame macOS 5 01-11-2011 10:27 AM
Second Interface Not Recognized romemtech Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-09-2002 01:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com