Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-19-2000, 09:04 AM
dendee dendee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ontario, Canada
Posts: 90
Default Pentium4 compatible?

What are digidesigns intentions....will 001 work? Digi works best with bx440 which is only 100 bus speed, seems that many with newer 133 machines have trouble. bx440's are gonna run out very soon, as intel stopped production. Pentium 4 will be 400meg bus speed with 3.4gig/sec bus transfer ......but will 001 choke on this? Are you planning a new hardware interface that will take advantage of this awesome power? Please digi, let us know what your intentions are,,,cus many of us are chompin at the bit to get the P4's, and would ABSOLUTELY LOVE a digidesign product- whether it's the 001 or otherwise.
Thanks Digi for your excellent efforts.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-19-2000, 12:23 PM
agentd agentd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toms River, NJ USA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

I don't know, but I would like to know this as well. I'm thinking that since the Pentium 4 is the first complete redesign since the Pentium Pro, that it will be quite some time before we see compatibility with the Digi001.

The other thing that I want besides P4 compatibility is that I want to run the Digi001 on Windows 2000! : )

-Don
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-22-2000, 10:06 AM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

"Are you planning a new hardware interface that will take advantage of this awesome power?"

From the benchmarks I've seen, the P4 is pretty underwhelming. Considerably slower than the Athlon, and even slower than P3's in some situations. P4 is designed for high marketing specs, not high performance.
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=1360
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2000, 06:04 AM
dendee dendee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ontario, Canada
Posts: 90
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

I read the article.....seems like these guys have a financial interest in athlon.....therefore cant be trusted... go to intel's site.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2000, 07:38 PM
BCBud BCBud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 164
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

yeah, Athlon blows big time!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2000, 10:37 AM
dendee dendee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: ontario, Canada
Posts: 90
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

Pentium 4's now available at Dell/Gateway!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-26-2000, 12:33 PM
rdpete rdpete is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: grasston,mn,usa
Posts: 343
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

From Mike Connelly:

"From the benchmarks I've seen, the P4 is pretty underwhelming."

I have heard that too, even coming from sources where PC is their bread and butter.


As for listing the hardware that you want Digi to be compatible with, don't hold your breath......


[Note: This message has been edited by Digidesign]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2000, 11:03 AM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

"I read the article.....seems like these guys have a financial interest in athlon.....therefore cant be trusted... go to intel's site."

Huh? What exactly leads you to believe they have a "financial interest in athlon"? And what sort of unbiased info are we supposed to get from intel's site?

So far, I haven't seen ANY benchmarks that show much of an advantage for the P4 - give us a URL that shows this "awesome power".

There's another set of benchmarks at:
http://www.tomshardware.com/

It looks like P4 is only worth getting if you have apps that are optimized for it. And based on Digi's past record, I wouldn't count on it anytime soon. Until that happens, I wouldn't be surprised if you get better PT performance on either a high end Athlon or P3. Anyone got a P4 that wants to run some PT benchmarks?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2000, 08:08 PM
dawpro dawpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: digital heaven
Posts: 13
Default Re: Pentium4 compatible?

As we all know benchmarks mean nothing if it wont load pro-tools or play back any tracks. I am simply stating that for now the chipset, code and compatability of a PIIII is not worth the money until software and hardware play the age old catchup game. It will take the rest of the pro audio hardware world 6 months to reach compatability. By then the P4 will be $300 bucks.

It's all about the MHZ marketing game.


DO NOT LET IT PURGE YOUR WALLET!!!!!

Athalons s-------k on the digi-001 stick with the PIII
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT MP 7.4 on Pentium4 w/i850 chipset logic7 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 08-24-2009 04:35 PM
Pentium4 Questions - yes I searched first.. =) funkgarden 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-27-2004 01:55 PM
Toshiba Satellite A20 Notebook Pentium4 2.66Ghz audiocase 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-26-2004 12:33 AM
Pentium4 and Pro Tools LE? Urban 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-29-2001 08:38 AM
Digi 001and Pentium4 Severo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-15-2001 03:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com