Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 11-27-2003, 06:41 AM

Default Hip hop makers, Akai MPC or softsampler?

I make hip hop. I use battery to do the drums, but lately ive been thinking about getting one of the new MPC 1000s.

Im not good at playing drums with my midi keyboard in real time, so I pencil in midi data into a midi track and hook that up to an Aux track with battery on it. I do this in grid mode (16th notes). This way, kick, snare, and hi hat lock in perfectly. But maybe too good. I listen to it, and it sounds good, but when i listen to a pro hip hop track their drums 'seem' to be more real. I dont know, maybe im just imagining it, because they would quantize to lock in the beats, right? Making it the same as mine. I cant hear the difference in timing, so it might be something else that is creating that live feel. My point is, would using an Akai sampler, give me a more expressive, better sounding beat? No matter hard you work on re-creating something, sometimes its too hard to capture a live performance. Thats probably not too clear, but you get the idea, right? I just feel like, maybe an akai would be better.

Thanks

Alex
Old 11-28-2003, 05:49 AM

Default Re: Hip hop makers, Akai MPC or softsampler?

Whatever you use, the fact that your drawing in midi notes instead of playing them in makes it MUCH harder to get any feel at all. Midi uses velocity, duration and note placement (or quantize) to interpret what we call "feel". If you draw in midi beats then you have to take some time to tweak all of the above parameters on each part (Kick, Snare, Hi Hats, ect.) to even get close to something with the "feel" that it sounds like you're looking for.