Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2005, 04:27 PM
PhilHall PhilHall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 91
Default Edit on a laptop on the road?

I'd love to be able to edit my sessions while traveling. Is there a way in ProTools LE to edit sessions without the 002 rack connected? As far as I can tell, the hardware has little use once tracking is done, but I can't find a way to convince ProTools LE to playback through my internal sound device. Is this even possible?

Phil
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2005, 04:33 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Edit on a laptop on the road?

Give up, it's not possible. The only thing you can do is carry an Mbox. ProTools LE will not run without a PTLE interface connected.

This is a recurring topic for discussion around here.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-05-2005, 04:35 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,658
Default Re: Edit on a laptop on the road?

M-Box.

I have an m-box on the road, and have edited sessions, comped vocals, on airplanes, busses, park benches, even at McDonalds. everywhere imaginable.

Think of it as 500 bucks for a pair of pre-amps, a pair of converters, and a powerfull headphone amp.

There is no way to play Pro-tools sessions in LE through 3rd party hardware.

Many before you have complained, and asked, and generally, Pro-tools, in conclusion, is a Hardware company, not a software company.

Pro-Tools LE is NOT a software, it is a Front End G.U.I (Graphic User Interface) for their hardware.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-05-2005, 06:04 PM
PhilHall PhilHall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Posts: 91
Default Re: Edit on a laptop on the road?

Thank you both for replying. Mbox may be a worthwhile investment. My audio card is pretty bad anyway, perhaps this gives me an excuse to purchase the Mbox as a better external sound device.

Phil
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
older laptop for the road? demians 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-02-2006 08:08 AM
Possible to recording on 001 then edit on laptop? thirdpig Tips & Tricks 2 02-16-2006 06:56 PM
laptop on the road?????? terryd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 02-07-2005 04:40 PM
Would rather not do it in the road... Oybunny General Discussion 7 06-05-2003 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com