Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Old 01-02-2012, 09:47 AM

Default No Sound with ASIo driver

Hi every-body!

I'm a new Pro Tools user - converting from other tools.

I can't get sound out of ProTools - even the metronome doesn't sound. I know my PC is working, cuz I can play games, watch videos...

I checked the SETUP | I/O settings and it's setup to use ASIO audio (probably a virtual audio driver?) How do I tell Pro Tools to use my HD audio? - I don't see it listed there as an option.

is there another driver that I'm supposed to setup or install? I can purchase another sound card if I need to, but I'm just starting out - so I'm hoping to avoid unnecessary expenses.
Old 01-02-2012, 01:49 PM

Default Re: No Sound with ASIo driver

Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasjbs View Post
Hi every-body!

I'm a new Pro Tools user - converting from other tools.

I can't get sound out of ProTools - even the metronome doesn't sound. I know my PC is working, cuz I can play games, watch videos...

I checked the SETUP | I/O settings and it's setup to use ASIO audio (probably a virtual audio driver?) How do I tell Pro Tools to use my HD audio? - I don't see it listed there as an option.

is there another driver that I'm supposed to setup or install? I can purchase another sound card if I need to, but I'm just starting out - so I'm hoping to avoid unnecessary expenses.
Start PT holding down the 'n' key and you'll be able to change/select your preferred audio engine. Specifically - what do you mean by 'HD audio'? PT10 HD or some onboard audio card?

QAPLA!
Old 01-02-2012, 03:23 PM

I ran PT with N key down, but no special menu appeared. I held it down while the program loaded - it asked me to open or create a file and I held it down after that window appeared to.