Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2021, 06:38 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,032
Default New 24" iMac M1

The new 24" iMac M1 was announced today. I know...I know...the M1 is not Protools certified still. But here are my first thoughts about the product. It seems to have the same M1 chips as those used in the 13" MacBook Pro, MacBook Air and Mac mini. There is still the limitations of the on-socket (non-upgradable) RAM of 8GB or configurable at purchase to 16GB maximum. I couldn't tell if the SDD is soldered in but it probably is (256GB or 512GB standard but can be configured up to 2 TB). There are two Thunderbolt 3/USB-4 ports. The higher model (with 8 core GPU instead of 7 core GPU) has 2 additional USB 3.1 ports.

All in all, it is not much more than the previous M1 machines in terms of specs. The one thing I like is the 11.5mm thickness and the choice of colors. The addition of Touch ID on the keyboard is also new.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.3.1 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2021, 11:51 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,634
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

What about those colors!?
Yuck!
And they didn't get rid of the "chin". It just lost the Apple logo.
I understand that they found it difficult to fit in the PSU in the slim design, but that eksternal power box will annoy many.

But still, the new imac looks like good value for the money, for many.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.12.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2021, 03:32 AM
samtrino samtrino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 42
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

I actually like the new design, but don’t need an all-in-one... and with the addition of 10GbE to the Mac Mini I find it way more interesting to my workflow.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
What about those colors!?
Yuck!
And they didn't get rid of the "chin". It just lost the Apple logo.
I understand that they found it difficult to fit in the PSU in the slim design, but that eksternal power box will annoy many.

But still, the new imac looks like good value for the money, for many.
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1, macOS Big Sur 11.2.3 , Pro Tools 2021, RME FireFace UFX+
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2021, 08:34 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,032
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

The new iMacs looks nice on a desk with the new design and colors (if you like the color choices). There is a VESA mount version available but the mount is on the lower part of the back (not centered). All-in-all, this is a nice addition to the entry level M1 Macs.

As Protools users, I think we all prefer to wait to see what Apple has coming out in their pro-level Macs. Here is what I'm hoping to see:
1) Larger RAM options (32-64 GB would be nice)
2) More Thunderbolt3/USB4 ports (for monitors, storage, audio interfaces)
3) Larger screen (probably in the works already to replace 27" model)

These options are not just for the iMacs but also the MacBook Pros etc.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.3.1 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2021, 09:36 PM
GoButtonGuy GoButtonGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 59
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

As stated in other threads on a system on a chip you will never see user upgradable RAM. A big part of SOC is integrated RAM on the silicon. It’s the new way of doing it.

The M1 Macs are entry level. This is that version of the iMac. In the streaming studio I’ve been working in over the pandemic the entry level Mini in both the 8 and 16 GB configs easily outperforms the like Intel configs and even a 32GB i7 config.

More powerful Macs are due to be released 3rd quarter this year (July-Sept). Reputable leakers indicate 12 compute cores, 16 GPU cores and up to 32GB of RAM. Eventually all Macs will be SOC including high performance pro versions. They are going to have enough power to run the most demanding apps.
__________________
What happens in Vegas, we make happen...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-21-2021, 10:06 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,032
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoButtonGuy View Post
As stated in other threads on a system on a chip you will never see user upgradable RAM. A big part of SOC is integrated RAM on the silicon. It’s the new way of doing it.

The M1 Macs are entry level. This is that version of the iMac. In the streaming studio I’ve been working in over the pandemic the entry level Mini in both the 8 and 16 GB configs easily outperforms the like Intel configs and even a 32GB i7 config.

More powerful Macs are due to be released 3rd quarter this year (July-Sept). Reputable leakers indicate 12 compute cores, 16 GPU cores and up to 32GB of RAM. Eventually all Macs will be SOC including high performance pro versions. They are going to have enough power to run the most demanding apps.
Points well taken. The argument that others have made is that some VI's load the entire sample into RAM. In this use case, it is not about RAM speed or efficiency moving data to and from the processor. There is a need for data capacity to hold and keep those samples in RAM. I'm not too worried as I'm running fine on 16 GB of RAM now as I don't have any of those types of VI's. For others, this may be an important factor. These entry level machines are usable for people like me, but I like to have some headroom for the future if I can afford it.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.3.1 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2021, 12:27 PM
chrisdee's Avatar
chrisdee chrisdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 3,119
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoButtonGuy View Post
More powerful Macs are due to be released 3rd quarter this year (July-Sept). Reputable leakers indicate 12 compute cores, 16 GPU cores and up to 32GB of RAM.
I've had my 14 core intel i9 with 32GB RAM on my Windows 10 computer since october 2018.

What makes the new high end Macs due later this year so much more powerfull and faster that what I've already got for the last 3 years?
__________________
Christian D Hagen | I7 Builds | PT/OS Compability Chart
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2021, 12:58 PM
samtrino samtrino is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 42
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

At this time it's all speculations and rumors so no one can answer this question... but if M1 is any indication, high-end Apple Silicon will have a similar super-optimized SoC architecture that will blow away the current generation of Intel Macs.
__________________
Mac Pro 5.1, macOS Big Sur 11.2.3 , Pro Tools 2021, RME FireFace UFX+
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2021, 01:32 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 21,151
Default Re: New 24" iMac M1

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisdee View Post
What makes the new high end Macs due later this year so much more powerfull and faster
When same silicon has CPU, GPU, and RAM, there is no extra caching needed
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand new Imac, still "Reduce RTAS" messages timeey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-01-2012 01:21 PM
Getting a lot of "Hardware buffer underflowed (-6085)" messages w/new(er) iMac Shanegrla macOS 1 12-23-2011 10:00 AM
iMac PT LE 7.3cs1 Rack 003 Error "Not Installed or Used by Another program" gcharles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 12-01-2010 08:24 PM
New 27" imac / "original" mbox - need some clear advice.please help !! santococo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-21-2010 10:30 AM
Can't open PT on new Imac -- "Required software extensions are missing" jsbeeth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-21-2009 07:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com