Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2001, 10:25 PM
fdc fdc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 91
Default C24 Fader Resolution

The PC spec sheet on this site says: "Each 100mm DigiFader provides 10-bits (1,024 steps) of resolution;"

What is the resolution of C24 faders?

Ultimately, what does 1024 steps mean? Does that mean that if the fader had 102.4 db of range from lowest to highest, the smallest step a user could make would be .1db? Some scheme like that? I'd guess it might depend on the bit depth of the session? Questions, questions...

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2001, 10:38 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

C24 faders are the same (panasonic) ones as those in Mackie's D8B
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2001, 10:38 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

C24 faders are the same (panasonic) ones as those in Mackie's D8B
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2001, 08:00 AM
vudoo vudoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 937
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

I beleive the question addresses the RESOLUTION of the faders as opposed to the physical faders themselves. Anyone ???
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2001, 08:17 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

C24 faders are 10 bit. Gannon explained it exactly a while back-- do a search. Basically they are 10 bit, but not the same 10 bit as a procontrol.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2001, 04:19 PM
Jules Jules is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,565
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

As a ProControl owner I can tell you that the Control24 fader FEEL GOOD. Infact the have a more 'chunky, Manley' feel to them compaier with the rather 'slippy' / light feel of the PC ones...

GO for it!

Jules
__________________
Jules
London, UK
Come hang with us here!
www.gearslutz.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-08-2001, 01:55 AM
fdc fdc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY, USA
Posts: 91
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

I was able to use a PC and C24 side by side recently in a showroom, and was able to adjust the volume on a track by .1db on the faders of both consoles. PC seemed a little easier to fine tune, but both got the job done. The PC faders glide very smoothly. C24 is a little bumpier.

Just a real-world, non-technical assessment.


What other things do you guys look for in the faders?

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-08-2001, 06:34 AM
Ray Fabi Ray Fabi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 416
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

I much prefer the PC 's fader. Smoother, not as rough. They feel like faders on a real board. The C24 faders feel like just any other low-end digital board. But that being said, they are OK especially for the price. In the end the music will sound just as good on them, and probably better since the monitor section on the C24 actually is supposed to be accurate and has no panning problems and no clicks pops etc etc. OOPS! I was not supposed to say that (wrong thread)


------------------
Ray Fabi
Ton of Bricks Studios Montreal
514-990-2713
__________________
Ray Fabi
Virus Music
Ton of Bricks Studios Montreal
514-990-2713
www.fabi.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-08-2001, 07:09 AM
uno1234 uno1234 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,459
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

No way! The ProControl will definitely make your music sound better!

But seriously, I feel like scraping the chalk board when I'm moving the C24 faders. Maybe I should give it another, more in depth try though.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2001, 12:53 AM
PDupre PDupre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Cohasset, MA 02025
Posts: 384
Default Re: C24 Fader Resolution

I think you PC users are spoiled. I'm new to PT and used a C24 before I used a PC. I thought the C24 was great ...until I used a PC. PC faders are unlike anything I have ever used. Absolutely amazing. Having said that. The resolution is the same 1024 steps found on PC meaning that there a 1024 descreet change points top to bottom on the fader. For the money, I don't think you can beat C24. I'm puting my money where my mouth is and buying one.
__________________
www.peterdupre.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Command 8 fader resolution lululu ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 7 10-22-2009 02:37 AM
What is the fader resolution on the 003 factory? lamp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-30-2007 09:39 AM
Command 8 fader resolution? turnstile ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 02-24-2005 02:36 PM
Fader resolution in PT johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 05-14-2001 05:57 AM
Control24 fader resolution? Peter Duemmler General Discussion 8 01-26-2001 12:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com