Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2004, 09:58 AM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default PT6.1 losing Hui Communication

10.2.8
PT6.1
Midisport 8x8

My PT keeps saying it's lost communication with the Hui, even though they're talking back & forth just fine. Every 30 secs or so, I get this annoying dialog box saying to power cycle the Hui, or check the connections.

I've power cycled Everything, completely shut down the system, reconfigured Audio MIDI setup, and it's still whining.

The worst part is, they're communicating perfectly. PT just keeps trying to tell me that they're not.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2004, 01:21 AM
MARVINBASS's Avatar
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 892
Default Re: PT6.1 losing Hui Communication

I used to get that too, but since I updated to 6.2.3 it has gone away.
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 3.2GHz 6 Core
32GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk2 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
Second System
Mac Pro 2013 3.5GHz 6-core Xeon E5-1650v2
32GB RAM
1 - HDX
1 - Avid Thunderbolt 3 Expansion Chassis
1 - HD 8X8 Interface

MARVINBASS Digital Audio, LLC
Ex PT Beta Tester
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-05-2004, 01:31 AM
Rizman Rizman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marin County
Posts: 30
Default Re: PT6.1 losing Hui Communication

Hey Farmer.....

Are you using any type of USB or MIDI Extender to pass along your HUI communciations?

I was using a GEFEN CAT5•1000, to extend VGA & USB, leaving my CPU and hard drives upstairs, and my monitor, keyboard, mouse and Mackie Control downstairs. I was using a MIDIman MIDISport 1x1 to get the Mackie Control to speak MIDI to USB, into the Gefen Extender. I suffered exactly the problem you get. In contacting GEFEN, they are aware that sometimes extending for MIDI is an issue, and there is some type of upgrade packge to get a USB extender that works reliably for MIDI use....

Riz
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2004, 08:16 PM
Farmer Dave Farmer Dave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Marin County, CA USA
Posts: 977
Default Re: PT6.1 losing Hui Communication

Dang! This board no longer sends me a mail when I get a reply to a post! Maybe I should check my prefs.....

Riz - I've got a Midiman MIDIsport 8x8, with latest drivers. Might have something to do with that. Both times this has happened, it was because I booted PT & had the Hui powered down. Can't remember how I fixed it the first time. Still haven't fixed it the second. But I also haven't tried for a few days.

I think I haven't syceled the power on EVERTHING this time. Last time I'm sure I shut down everything, including the MIDIsport.

Oh, my USB run is short.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2004, 05:29 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 723
Default Re: PT6.1 losing Hui Communication

i had a midisport and mtp*(which never worked with hui)..neither would work with 6.2.2 or 6.2.3 finally had to purchanse a digi midi io and hui works perfect now..
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2004, 12:08 PM
mike.x mike.x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 44
Default Re: PT6.1 losing Hui Communication

Hui can be flaky at best. Sell it - then get back to recording manatees on your antiquated MCI JH110 1/4" rig.


Let me know if that helps at all


;-)

Ha Ha

Mikey

Oh and quit f&%$(ng around in 10.2.8 - I've already told you about that

Sorry Dave - nowhere is sacred -


OK - I know - what's an LE guy doing answering on the TDM forum - Putting RTAS plugs on aux inputs - that's what
__________________
OSX 10.4.6 G5 2.0G PT7.3.1 HD3 96io
OSX 10.4.9 Macbook Core2Duo 2.0G 2G Ram PTMP7.3.1 (M-Audio FW Solo) PTLE7.3 (002/002R)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
9.0.6 losing Mbox Pro communication real_eyes macOS 5 02-09-2012 12:47 PM
Powerbook Losing Communication With 002, etc. KevLev 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 07-18-2005 03:06 PM
Losing Communication with DIGI002 reztowel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-22-2004 07:55 PM
Losing communication with Magma CB2 Snitz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-09-2004 08:33 PM
got 6.0.1 and STILL HUI losing communication Tim R. Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 04-29-2003 12:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com