Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2022, 09:26 PM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 52
Default Installing Pro Tools 12 on a second PC [SOLVED]

I have Pro Tools on my PC registered with an Ilok.

How do I install the program into my Laptop using the Ilok. (or can I )

I have Avid Link showing the Program installed into my Pc (Windows 10) but i cannot find the Downloadable Program in my Avid Account.

Can someone help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-22-2022, 01:34 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,993
Default Re: Pro tools studio 12.5.0

Hmmm, how many ways is this post confusing?
There is no such thing as Pro Tools studio 12.5.0. So let me drop some general info in hopes I accidentally offer a real fix.
1-iLok; iLok is a way to authorize software(like Pro Tools and many plugins). The license needs to be ON your iLok(in your account is not the same).
2-iLok can work in 2 ways, iLok Cloud(don't use this) or a physical iLok(use this).
3-iLok has nothing to do with installing anything.
4-Did you install Pro Tools?(and what exact version did you install)
5-Did you create an account with Avid(without a "My Avid" account, you can't access any downloadable products you own)
6-Once you have an installer(whether downloaded or on a disk), you can install Pro Tools on as many computers as you like. Only the computer that has the iLok connected will all the software to run.
7-Your iLok license needs to match the version of Pro Tools you install(so a license for 12.5 will not work with Pro Tools 12.6, 2018, 2021.12 or any other).
8-Look near the top of this(and every) DUC page for a link named Help Us Help You and have a good read.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2022, 03:57 AM
fredmarzin fredmarzin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wallan, Australia
Posts: 52
Default Re: Pro tools studio 12.5.0

Hi Dave
Yes. I don't know where the 12.50 came in. Its Pro Tools 12.0
I have the Ilok usb registered with Pro Tools.
I was trying to install the Program via the downloads on my PC.
(CALL ME A DINOSAUR--thinking old school)
(Both lap top and PC have the same operating system (Win 10)
The Installations bombed out and had to use my Restore Points to get Windows to work .
Doing some investigations I realized that AVID now use AVID LINK to install programs

Installed it ----Logged in---and there it was.

Problem Solved... NO issues


Thanks Again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-23-2022, 08:32 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,993
Default Re: Pro tools studio 12.5.0

Good news Do keep in mind that PT12 is not supported on Windows 10(12.5 is), but you may be fine anyway. You can(and many do) uninstall Avid Link. Its a great idea that hasn't quite realized its potential. Last thing to remember with PT and windows 10; if you ever need to uninstall either(Link or Pro Tools), it requires a slightly deeper dive than you expect. From the Apps and features window, dig one level deeper to the Programs and features window(link is uper right corner of Apps and features).Have fun
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX avid chassis drivers not installing Mojave 10.14.6 solved GarethHD Pro Tools 2020 0 11-21-2020 03:20 PM
Installing Pro Tools 10.3.9 FAILURE [SOLVED] Pro.Fools macOS 5 09-08-2014 08:42 AM
Question about installing 11.0.2 SOLVED JGlen Pro Tools 11 8 09-25-2013 04:13 AM
Problem installing PT 10.3.5 [solved] danonbass Pro Tools 10 2 06-13-2013 12:41 PM
No audio after installing Pro Tools 10.3.2 [solved] wullie macOS 5 12-17-2012 03:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com