Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2001, 02:12 PM
crash98 crash98 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3
Default unwanted echo during record

I have recently installed Pro Tools Free. All seems to be well except that when recording to an audio track I get an echo. It happens with a brand new file with no plug-ins plugged in. At first I thought it was feeding back from the speakers to the mic but I plugged in headphones which cuts out the speakers and it still echos.

I don't have any external sound epuipment hooked up. I'm just trying it out with a mic plugged into the sound card mic port (SB128).

How do I get rid of the echo?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2001, 09:21 AM
audiotracker audiotracker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Barrie
Posts: 174
Default Re: unwanted echo during record

Mute the track you are recording to as you record.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2001, 09:57 AM
Rock_Artist Rock_Artist is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Hertzliya
Posts: 1,482
Default Re: unwanted echo during record

Just for knowladge.

The echo you're refering to is called Latency. it's occuring because until audio data gets into soundcard, being converted into digital information, being sent to computer I/O, being sent into digi drivers and from there to Pro Tools and then being output back to the SB takes time...
On Digi hardware the latency can be low as 128samples on semipro systems (AM3/Digi001) while on TDM you can enjoy even 10samples or even lower (128samples is something like 0.010sec or something) on the SB or other soundcards using Pro Tools free you usually get 4096samples so guess what is the echo now [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]...
__________________
Just wanna do music,
RA.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2001, 07:33 AM
crash98 crash98 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3
Default Re: unwanted echo during record

It isn't just a delay. I actually get an echo, that is, the sound gets re-recorded and comes back again and again. I discovered that if I pan the channel all the way to one side (it isn't always the same side) then the echo goes away (I still have the latency, but that is a separate issue).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2001, 11:05 AM
QuikDraw's Avatar
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Azle, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,116
Default Re: unwanted echo during record

You probably do not have the Microphone Input specified in your Windows mixer. I don't remember what it's called on the SB128, but on the SB Live there is a setting called "What You Hear". That setting records everything that the soundcard hears rather than just the one input source that you want. You are probably using that setting.

Double-click your speaker icon in the system tray (bottom right corner of the screen, where the clock is). From the Options menu, select Properties, then select Recording. Then select Microphone as your recording source. That ought to take care of it.

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- HP Spectre x360 Convertible 14t-ea100 - 2.9 GHz (5.0 Max Turbo) i7-1195G7 32GB RAM, OLED 3k x 2k, Iris Xe Onboard Graphics
- Windows 11 - PT 2021.12
- PreSonus Quantum 2 - PreSonus Studio 24c - Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Samsung T3 and T5 SSDs - Various USB2/3 and Firewire HDDs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2001, 05:56 AM
crash98 crash98 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 3
Default Re: unwanted echo during record

Thanks to all who responded. I got the echo to stop simply by muting the channel during record. I can then record without the echo. There is still delay/latency but since it is muted I don't hear it during recording.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2001, 01:46 AM
JoelOnVacation JoelOnVacation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MA
Posts: 7
Default Re: unwanted echo during record

quote:
Originally posted by crash98:
Thanks to all who responded. I got the echo to stop simply by muting the channel during record. I can then record without the echo. There is still delay/latency but since it is muted I don't hear it during recording.


You don't hear the echo DURING the recording, but is the newly recorded track time aligned with the monitored track AFTER the recording?

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-14-2001, 07:23 AM
albertawf albertawf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: hong kong
Posts: 3
Default Re: unwanted echo during record

I ALSO USE THE SB!LIVE SOUND CARD AND GET THE SAME ECHO PROBLEM. AFTER TRYING DIFFERENT SETTING, I FIND THAT THE FIRST SOUND IS FROM THE MICROPHONE INPUT ( REAL TIME SOUND ) AND THE ECHO IS FROM THE "WAVE" CHANNEL ( THAT IS THE SOUND FROM MICROPHONE THROUGH THE SOUND CARD, PT AND THEN OUTPUT TO THE SPEAKER ). IF I MUTE THE MICROPHONE, I ONLY GOT THE DELAY OUTPUT SOUND. SO WHAT I AM DOING NOW IS TO MUTE THE "WAVE" CHANNEL TO RECORD A TRACK BECAUSE I HAVE TO RECORD A TRACK IN REAL TIME. THE RECORDED TRACK IS MATCHING WITH OTHER TRACKS. HOWEVER, I CANNOT HEAR ANY EFFECT BY THE PLUG-INS I ADDED ( BECAUSE I ONLY HEAR THE INPUT SOUND ). THIS IS MY PROBLEM. IS IT THE PROBLEM OF MY COMPUTER OR IT IS NORMAL.

MY COMPUTER SETUP: CELERON 300A OC 450, 256M RAM, 440BX MOBO
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Longest Echo Record Broken DonaldM General Discussion 1 01-17-2014 06:30 AM
Echo when trying to record? CamelotProductions Windows 4 12-01-2011 07:33 PM
Microphone has a echo when trying to record with 002 Consule Oxygen1914 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 02-08-2009 08:14 PM
Echo In My Headphones While Record Enabled prophile 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-27-2007 05:23 PM
getting unwanted signal when engaging record hellatall 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-29-2006 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com