Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2022, 11:27 AM
foret_sombre foret_sombre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: France
Posts: 2
Default Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

Hello everyone,


I'm on Windows 10 and have a mensual subscription for Pro Tools Studio 22.7.

I have this popup which says "The Avid Video Engine is not installed" whenever I try activating it from the engine menu, deactivated by default on launch.

This problem doesn't go away after :
  • full uninstalling, reboot and re-installing
  • full uninstalling, reboot, deleting previous register entries related to the Avid Video Engine (I had the PT 12 HD crack installed for years before buying for 22.7, and apparently it let files in Public > Documents), reboot, re-installing
I read somewhere that I had to create a register entry for the right version of PT but I don't know how to do this and even if it's the right thing to do.



Thanks for your help !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-27-2022, 03:58 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,744
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

Here is a good article on how to install the AVE on Windows.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2022, 02:26 AM
foret_sombre foret_sombre is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: France
Posts: 2
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

Hi junkgear,


I tried that too and it doesn't work. The AVE isn't even showing in the Utilities folder or in the Programs list.
__________________
Windows 10 Professionnel
Processeur Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8700 CPU @ 3.20GHz, 3192*MHz, 6 cœur(s), 12 processeur(s) logique(s)
Komplete Audio 6
Pro Tools Studio 2022.7
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2022, 12:39 AM
Damon_Ellis99 Damon_Ellis99 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: London
Posts: 1
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

Quote:
Originally Posted by foret_sombre View Post
Hi junkgear,


I tried that too and it doesn't work. The AVE isn't even showing in the Utilities folder or in the Programs list.
I have been having the EXACT SAME issue !!!!!

AVID charge you £30 to have a phone call with them and it is just ONE !!! I have paid £250 for what????!!!

I have not been able to do any music for over a week because of this hahaha
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2022, 10:39 AM
nicolasvr nicolasvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: BRUSSELS
Posts: 14
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

Hi,

Having the same problem here since i upgraded to 2022.9
The AVE doesn't appear in the utilities even after full re-install.

Did any of you guys got a reply from Avid about the issue?
__________________
Dell Inspiron 17-7778 laptop
2.6 GHz Intel Core i7-6500U
16GB RAM - Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2022.9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-08-2022, 04:43 PM
dstone dstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

Avid normally stores a lot of it's information in the following location:


C:\Users\Public\Public Documents


I recently installed Pro Tools Intro so I can start to get an idea on how to use it. When I looked into the above directory I saw an entry for the Avid Video Engine. The video engine isn't installed with Pro Tools Intro, but the folder is there.


See if the AVE is somewhere in that folder first.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-08-2022, 05:00 PM
dstone dstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

And just for grins I decided to look into the registry. The version number for the Avid Video Engine was marked as 22.8.0, and not 22.9.0.


If you are comfortable with the following, make a reg.txt file in notepad and add the following:



Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Avid Technology\Avid Video Engine]

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Avid Technology\Avid Video Engine\22.9.0]
"DataLocation"="C:\\Users\\Public\\Documents\\ Avid Video Engine"


For some reason, a space is being inserted in the DataLocation line just before Avid Video Engine. Delete the space before saving.
Save the file, and then rename the file to reg.reg. Double-click on the file and it will add that key to the registry. Restart your system. That may get the AVE to work. Or not. I have no way to test that here.

NOTE: I had to update the key entries to get them to install correctly.

Last edited by dstone; 10-11-2022 at 01:38 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-20-2022, 02:36 AM
nicolasvr nicolasvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: BRUSSELS
Posts: 14
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstone;2649781
If you are comfortable with the following, make a reg.txt file in notepad and add the following:



Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Avid Technology\Avid Video Engine

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Avid Technology\Avid Video Engine\22.9.0]
"DataLocation"="C:\\Users\\Public\\Documents\\ Avid Video Engine"


For some reason, a space is being inserted in the DataLocation line just before Avid Video Engine. Delete the space before saving.
Save the file, and then rename the file to reg.reg. Double-click on the file and it will add that key to the registry. Restart your system. That may get the AVE to work. Or not. I have no way to test that here.

NOTE: I had to update the key entries to get them to install correctly.

Ooh okey, didn't notice about the space issue. I had tried this already in the registry editor but it didn't work.
Now the video engine fires up again. About time.. Thanks for the tip
__________________
Dell Inspiron 17-7778 laptop
2.6 GHz Intel Core i7-6500U
16GB RAM - Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 2022.9
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-20-2022, 06:42 PM
dstone dstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Boston
Posts: 4
Default Re: Avid Video Engine in 22.7 "not installed"

I figured out that this was most likely the culprit. If you're on 22.7.0 or some other version, change the 22.9.0 to your current version (e.g. 22.7.0) and add that to the registry.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"The avid video engine was unable to stop" error hbadger30 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 10-01-2019 04:51 AM
"Timeout while trying to connect to the Avid Video Engine" jsummerskvi Pro Tools 12 4 11-28-2017 08:27 AM
"Connecting to Avid Video Engine" postmike Pro Tools 12 1 12-15-2015 07:13 PM
Can't import video "Avid engine not installed"??? garnoil Post - Surround - Video 9 10-08-2012 05:45 PM
"Avid Video Engine Not Installed" trondned Post - Surround - Video 9 09-17-2009 03:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com