Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-25-2012, 06:19 AM
cosmo cosmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Posts: 12
Default Mbox2 Pro - unable to hear inputs without having PT on

Hi guys,

Am I right in thinking that Mbox2 Pro is unable to output my external instruments when Pro Tools isnt launched ? I downloaded the drivers and core audio updates, etc then set up my mbox2 pro in OS preferences as both input and output device for playback plus ticked it in audio/midi setup but all to no avail. There are no problems outputing my external hardware instruments in Pro Tools - I can listen and record them with no issues, but somehow I cant hear my instruments connected to the mbox when PT is off.
Would be nice to be able to listen to my turntable going through the aux channel without turning the software on for example.

Im on mac pro running OSX 10.6.4

Thanks for your feedback

Last edited by cosmo; 10-25-2012 at 06:50 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-25-2012, 06:39 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,925
Default Re: Mbox2 Pro - unable to hear inputs without having PT on

Have you tried the "mix-knob"?
Not shure what it's called on the front of the mbox2, but it lets you mix between protools output and what's present on the mbox' inputs.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired. – Ben's Blog
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1. EuCon 2022.12.0.81
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, 2 x Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2012, 06:46 AM
cosmo cosmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Posts: 12
Default Re: Mbox2 Pro - unable to hear inputs without having PT on

Mbox2 Pro doesnt have the 'mix knob' It was featured on mbox2 - the usb powered one
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2012, 07:05 AM
cosmo cosmo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: London
Posts: 12
Default Re: Mbox2 Pro - unable to hear inputs without having PT on

Im thinking now that perhaps my last post is the answer to the first one...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable To Hear what I recorded In PT9 Mike1005 Windows 7 01-09-2013 08:40 AM
Hear spdif and analog inputs PhilLewis01 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-18-2008 10:01 PM
Can hear all but inputs on mbox 2 pro DonChicoGuapele 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-07-2008 09:57 PM
Unable to hear midi in playback cstancil MIDI 1 01-02-2008 02:42 PM
Unable to hear playback of some files on my pc doylemusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-28-2004 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com