Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2002, 12:20 PM
letrev's Avatar
letrev letrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Staten Island, NY US
Posts: 558
Default Help - unable to open session G4/500 HD PT5.3

Received a session on CD-R from a client. Saved to Mac HD. Opened session and none of the files could be located by PT (search for missing file unsuccessful).

It appears that the client saved all of the audio in the session but for some reason, PT is expecting the filenames to be different so it doesn't recognize them. I found something on the answerbase about PT 5.1.1 having a bug that can cause this (don't know which version the client's engineer had used).

DIGI - is this a known issue and is there a work-around?

thanks
__________________
************
Steven Vertel
Mixing / Mastering Engineer
High Rock Records & Studio
NYC

http://highrockrecords.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2002, 06:14 PM
Alex Rodriguez Alex Rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: some where in the US
Posts: 338
Default Re: Help - unable to open session G4/500 HD PT5.3

Did you try placing the audio files into a new session, by the original time stamp option, using the audio file names for placing them on tracks? Once I had to do that on a different problem. I had to overdubb and mix a recording from another studio, and the original recording was done on a newer PT version than the one I had in that studio, so I could never open the original session, and I was forces to create a new one.
It's time comsuming, but if the original recording is not too big you might save the session, as I did (on a different situation, of course).
Good luck,
Alex
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB of RAM, OS 10.4.11, PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2002, 10:14 PM
deerock deerock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 139
Default Re: Help - unable to open session G4/500 HD PT5.3

that has worked for me too. Not all of these 'enggggineers' are smart enough to think ahead for the person(s) receiving the sessions.

Derek Sample
Post FX, Inc. [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
blender post
'translating your vision into sound'
www.blenderpost.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-14-2002, 06:13 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,827
Default Re: Help - unable to open session G4/500 HD PT5.3

Quote:
Originally posted by letrev:
I found something on the answerbase about PT 5.1.1 having a bug that can cause this (don't know which version the client's engineer had used).

DIGI - is this a known issue and is there a work-around?
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">I am not aware of any such problem. To which AnswerBase entry are you referring?

Can you verify with your client that no audio filenames were changed after they closed the session to backup and send to you?

If the audio data was spread among several drives at previous studio, you might want to have the perform a "Save Session Copy In" to consolidate the audio data to a single location.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2002, 01:52 AM
letrev's Avatar
letrev letrev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Staten Island, NY US
Posts: 558
Default Re: Help - unable to open session G4/500 HD PT5.3

Thanks guys. Well, after all of that I came to find that the session was created on a PC and I needed to install the Joliet extension to translate to Mac format. Now everything is A-ok.

-thanks for your input
__________________
************
Steven Vertel
Mixing / Mastering Engineer
High Rock Records & Studio
NYC

http://highrockrecords.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unable to Open Session mundo66 MIDI 0 11-10-2006 09:27 AM
Unable to open PTLE 7.1 session in PT5 - Mac G4 Lil G 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-22-2006 04:50 AM
Unable to open session from the session icon jah-d 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 01-21-2004 07:00 PM
unable to open a session zagreb Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 12-06-2001 09:31 AM
Unable to open or save a session Doug Judd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-31-2001 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com