Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2002, 11:13 AM
Nine Spine Nine Spine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 468
Default OT:I do realize this will likely never get an answer...but it did, Thank You

so thank you everyone for reading it anyway.

I have a potential client who has a Korg D1600 16 track digital recorder. It's one of those studio in a box things for those who are unfamiliar. He wants to be able to track the scratch tracks to every song on his Korg unit and transfer them to PT's to track the drums and main instruments here. Is there anybody out there who owns or is familiar with this piece of equipment?? The guy who owns it is kind of a recording idiot and he can't answer my questions. I need to know the following things:

1.) Is it possible to export the bare audio tracks onto CD using the internal CDR on the D1600 so they can be imported into PT's? I have found out from Korg's website that the unit records 16/24 bit 44.1 wav files. He lives far away and will travel here to record. He wants to send me the disks so I can set up the sessions before hand.

2.) Does the Korg CDR drive burn in HFS+ format so my Mac can read the CD's??

3.) Does anybody know where I can find a Korg D1600 forum on the web??

Some problems I have recently discovered are that the D1600 only has a lightpipe S/PDIF I/O so even if he were to fly out with his unit we would have to record tracks into PT's two at a time and sync them up to each other. This scenario is something I would love to avoid. Does anyone here have any suggestions??

Thank you kindly for your help.
__________________
I.B.S. Studios
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2002, 11:56 PM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: OT:I do realize this will likely never get an answer...but it did, Thank You

use the "pop click sync" method.

Have him record a clik track for a couple seconds at the beginning of each track. THen have him burn each track to a cdr.
THen simply line up the tracks in Pro tools.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2002, 02:07 PM
Nine Spine Nine Spine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 468
Default Re: OT:I do realize this will likely never get an answer...but it did, Thank You

Thank you Chompers, this is a scenario we have already discussed, and more than likely this is what will happen. It would obviously be easier if this damn Korg thing would burn CD's and files the proper way! It would be nice if he could burn all the tracks as data, but it's looking like that isn't going to happen.

Does anybody know of a forum like this for Korg Products?? Yahoo comes up with a bunch of crap that isn't working.
__________________
I.B.S. Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-26-2002, 03:28 PM
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 223
Default Re: OT:I do realize this will likely never get an answer...but it did, Thank You

You could try asking in other forums

Heres one you might not know:
http://www.sospubs.co.uk/

I'm sure someone on that board must have the korg D1600. The magazine contributers sometimes post good advice on the board aswell so it could be worth a try.

Nocturnal
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-26-2002, 05:10 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: OT:I do realize this will likely never get an answer...but it did, Thank You

Check this link for more info on the Korg:
http://www.korg.com/gear/info.asp?A_PROD_NO=D 1600

It reads as though it will back up audio as data on the optional drive, which you should be able to import directly into PT from disc. (ISO 9660)

Option two, transfer tracks two at a time in real time via spdif, using MTC and MMC sync with PT as master. This also keeps the tracks in the digital domain.

It appears it will only record 4 tracks at 24 bit however....anything more must be 16 bit.

C'mon, us not answer a question.....hell we'll talk about anything!!!!!!!!

Hope this is helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2002, 11:40 PM
Nine Spine Nine Spine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 468
Default Re: OT:I do realize this will likely never get an answer...but it did, Thank You

Thanks to you all for your help with this one! [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Nocturnal - Thank you for the link, I will post the question there as well.

Where - thanks for your help sir, I truly appreciate it. I have already downloaded the manual for the D1600 and it says it will track 8 tracks at 24bit and the client says that's the way he has laid out his scratch tracks. Also, he has already sent me a couple of his Data backup disks and no dice. They won't mount up in any of my comps. Windows doesn't recognize it and the mac asks me to prepare it. What the manual doesn't say is if it is possible to change how the disks are burnt. Is it really possible that Korg wouldn't use HFS or 9660?? COME ON!!

Unfortunately, it looks like were stuck recording them in 2 at a time s/pdif style. But at least the machine will recognize MMC and MTC....
__________________
I.B.S. Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So what happens if you realize you left your ilok home? digidesigner VENUE Live Sound Systems 1 10-28-2011 10:25 PM
D'oh. It took me 3 years to realize holding shift allows you multiple plug-in windows fenderrocker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 08-17-2009 08:03 AM
mBox NOT mBox2 - CoreAudio doesn't realize this billcooney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-09-2007 01:01 AM
New G4's noise. Time for Apple to realize what we need! Kickin.da.speaker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 26 12-09-2002 01:09 AM
CD-Rom-Answer/Latency- answer? MacDaddy WGAR Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 11-12-2000 06:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com