Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2012, 03:59 AM
Stormshadow2k Stormshadow2k is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tønsberg, Norway
Posts: 10
Exclamation Digi 002 Workstation refuses to power up, just makes a repeating clicking noise

We use a Digi 002 workstation in our rehersal space.
Yesterday during mixing, all the LEDs on the 002 shut down, and PT lost communication with it.

I tried turning the 002 on and off and it refused to start up again.
Now when I try to power it up, it just makes a constant ticking sound like its starting to power up, but just can't get enough power.

Im guessing this is the famous power harness failure?

If so, I have a real problem. We bought the 002 used second hand, and do not have any serial code for it registered at Avid. There is a 10 digit code written on the back of the workstation XXXXXXXXXX, but nothing like a usual serial code XXXX-XXXX-XXX etc. Does Avid still issue the power harness replacement for Digi 002, or are those days long gone?

1) Anyone know what the hardware failure might be?
2) How on earth do you contact Avid via mail if you havent got any registered product?

Any suggestions, any at all, will be greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2012, 03:33 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,854
Default Re: Digi 002 Workstation refuses to power up, just makes a repeating clicking noise

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...=1#post1677129
read my post about halfway down the page. Avid probably still can sell you a harness or you might get one from an authorized service center(AllPro Electronics in Nashville is one). No more freebies though, but doing a re-seat on all connections(5-6 times each) will often get you back up and running. Nothing but a phillips screwdriver required
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi Tech Support: Control|24 Clicking Noise on Power On Krumbz ICON & C|24 14 05-19-2012 11:41 AM
Digi 002 makes noise @ low buffer settings gvees 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 16 05-29-2009 11:54 AM
Digi 003 Rack clicking noise during power up thefremonts 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 05-13-2007 09:08 AM
Digi 002 makes clicking noise and craps out. Help grasshopper47 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-18-2005 02:31 PM
Digi 002 rack clicking noise and LED's flashing inside saw 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-07-2003 06:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com