Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2000, 04:05 AM
jack2cannon jack2cannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 89
Default stand alone CDR/W or DAT ?

Hi guys,

I need to buy a mixdown mastering deck,

and was wondering if anyone here has used the cheaper consumer type CD RECORDERS ?

Or is DAT still the way to go ?


:}
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2000, 05:11 AM
Sinboy Sinboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hollywwod, CA, USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: stand alone CDR/W or DAT ?

Of course, CDs! And you can listen to them anywhere: in your car, at a party, at your friends....[to check on the mix], on your oncle's dolby surround hi-fi, on lil' sis' radioshack discman.......
__________________
G4 PCI Graphics OS 8.6 320M RAM
Logic Audio Platinum 4.1.3
Digi001
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2000, 03:40 PM
jack2cannon jack2cannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 89
Default Re: stand alone CDR/W or DAT ?

Thank's Sinboy.

All those reasons you mentioned are exactly why i'd prefer to get a CD recorder.

But i wasn't sure if the actual audio quality was as good as a DAT recorder.

Also, does anyone know if 'SCMS' woul'd be a problem if i recorded from a SCMS protected CD back into pro tools 5le DIGI001 ???
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-14-2000, 04:16 PM
Sinboy Sinboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Hollywwod, CA, USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: stand alone CDR/W or DAT ?

Digital Audio is 0 and 1s. Wether you put your 0 and 1s on a CD, a Hard Drive, a DAT Tape, an ADAT tape, a computer or anything doesn't affect the quality of the sound [except DCC or MiniDisc or other non pro formats that apply digital compression to your 0 and 1 to gain storage space!]. The converters you use to convert those 0 and 1s into an analog signal do. If I assume you mix in PT and burn digitally to CD, whatever CD Burner you choose you'll have the same quality of sound, since you'll just take whatever 0 and 1s PT give you and put them on a CD. If you mix in analog and record onto a Stand alone CD burner, then it's A/D converters quality willl affect the quality of your 0 and 1's on your CD.

In plain english: buy a SCSI Yamaha 6424 ans a SCSI card and don't worry about quality other than your music's quality!

[This message has been edited by Sinboy (edited March 14, 2000).]
__________________
G4 PCI Graphics OS 8.6 320M RAM
Logic Audio Platinum 4.1.3
Digi001
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
192 as stand alone JonMitchell Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 12-14-2005 10:02 PM
What does DAW stand for? mdotbeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-15-2005 06:29 AM
Stand for C8 George Ware ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 05-09-2004 06:56 PM
take a stand 70bit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 06-23-2003 03:36 PM
192 stand alone? Scanners Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 05-13-2003 11:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com