Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-07-2023, 01:25 PM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 545
Default Issue with transport setting on Ultimate 2023.3.0

Hello,

I don't think I've seen this issue/behavior before. I don't know if it is related to my current Pro Tools Ultimate 2023.3.0, or if it was doing it before this version, or even if I have some strange setting/option misconfigured. I'm hoping you guys can throw some light at it.

Notice I'm on Windows 10.

I constantly navigate my sessions using the numeric keyboard on the right. I generally have the transport set to measures on the top and samples on the bottom.

When I want to move to a different location, I press the star/asterisk key in the numeric keyboard, then I type the measure number I want to move to, and press enter. This has always worked fine for me.

However, I'm now noticing that, for certain measures I try to go to, the transport gets set in an unexact place. I can't find a relation on why some work and why some other don't. This is an example I just screenshooted from a session recorded at 96Khz/24bit:

Let's say my session is at a random place around measure 163:



So, I press the star on the numeric keyboard:



Then I type 164 to go to that exact location/measure:



And I press enter:



Cool. It worked. But now I want to move to the measure 165. So I press the star on the numeric keyboard again:



Then I type 165 to go into that exact location/measure:



And I press enter:



Notice how it didn't go into 165|1|000? And, that happens to be exactly one sample before it. If I manually increase the sample location by one in the transport, then it is the measure 165.

Now, I type the star in the numeric keyboard again and type 166 to go into that exact location/measure:



And this time it works correctly again:



In this example, typing specifically 165 gets the wrong location always. It happens with other measures in the session too, but I just can't make sense of what is making a difference for them.

Any ideas of what may be happening here?
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Pro Tools Ultimate (perpetual with active updates/support plan)
RME Fireface 802, Focusrite Clarett+ Octopre, Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Monitors: Yamaha MSP7 and Yamaha HS8S
Asus RoG Maximus Hero Z790 (in a 4U slidable rack mount! )
Intel Core i9-13900k 5.4 Ghz (16 cores / 32 threads)
128 GB RAM G.Skill DDR5 6000 MHz (4 modules 32GB each)
Boot disk: Samsung 980 Pro M.2 2TB
Media disks: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro M.2 2TB in RAID 0 for current work, 2 x Seagate Exos X20 20TB mirrored for archive and backup
Video: PNY/Nvidia RTX 3080 TI with a single 4K display Dell U3223QE 32''

Last edited by Zarabozo; 06-07-2023 at 01:30 PM. Reason: Typos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-07-2023, 08:36 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,470
Default Re: Issue with transport setting on Ultimate 2023.3.0

see here:

https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=424009
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2023, 09:01 PM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 545
Default Re: Issue with transport setting on Ultimate 2023.3.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Thanks!
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Pro Tools Ultimate (perpetual with active updates/support plan)
RME Fireface 802, Focusrite Clarett+ Octopre, Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Monitors: Yamaha MSP7 and Yamaha HS8S
Asus RoG Maximus Hero Z790 (in a 4U slidable rack mount! )
Intel Core i9-13900k 5.4 Ghz (16 cores / 32 threads)
128 GB RAM G.Skill DDR5 6000 MHz (4 modules 32GB each)
Boot disk: Samsung 980 Pro M.2 2TB
Media disks: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro M.2 2TB in RAID 0 for current work, 2 x Seagate Exos X20 20TB mirrored for archive and backup
Video: PNY/Nvidia RTX 3080 TI with a single 4K display Dell U3223QE 32''
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2023, 11:12 AM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 545
Default Re: Issue with transport setting on Ultimate 2023.3.0

This seems resolved in the new Pro Tools 2023.6 release.

Good job Avid!
__________________
The audio world is full of (mainly very expensive) placebos.

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Pro Tools Ultimate (perpetual with active updates/support plan)
RME Fireface 802, Focusrite Clarett+ Octopre, Eleven Rack (ERXP)
Monitors: Yamaha MSP7 and Yamaha HS8S
Asus RoG Maximus Hero Z790 (in a 4U slidable rack mount! )
Intel Core i9-13900k 5.4 Ghz (16 cores / 32 threads)
128 GB RAM G.Skill DDR5 6000 MHz (4 modules 32GB each)
Boot disk: Samsung 980 Pro M.2 2TB
Media disks: 2 x Samsung 980 Pro M.2 2TB in RAID 0 for current work, 2 x Seagate Exos X20 20TB mirrored for archive and backup
Video: PNY/Nvidia RTX 3080 TI with a single 4K display Dell U3223QE 32''
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultimate 2023.3.0 Not Pasting Audio On Frame Correctly chadjhughes Pro Tools 3 05-21-2023 01:42 PM
Pro Tools 2023.3 - UI/Clip Zoom/Waveform Centerline Issue ZoaSoundworks Pro Tools 4 04-15-2023 07:03 AM
Pro Tools 2023.3 - Macro Issue ZoaSoundworks Pro Tools 1 04-13-2023 11:49 AM
2023.3.0 export issue DHS Pro Tools 1 04-12-2023 12:39 PM
Today's AIR FX and Instrument 2023.3 updates re-install 2023.2! off the wall Pro Tools 9 03-28-2023 10:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com