Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Old 08-07-2022, 08:48 AM

Default What Causes Corrupt Sessions?

Hey guys,
I've been using PT since 2000. I'm relatively knowledgeable about troubleshooting stuff in PT. In other words, I have always succeeded in troubleshooting and fixing my PT issues (which are a LOT! btw!) I know plugins can cause PT to crash depending on varying factors, but most of my issues have not been because of plugins. Over the years, I've had more than my fair share of corrupted sessions, of which the recommended solution is to import tracks one at a time into a new session. This procedure is ridiculously time-consuming if it's a big session. We all know how slow Avid is to conform to modern norms. This is my question: Apart from plugins, what are the things that corrupt sessions? What causes a perfectly good session to suddenly misbehave to the extent where the only solution is to import tracks one at a time? BTW, it's well known that other DAWs don't do this. Upon opening a session, almost every other DAW will pinpoint incompatible plugins and save you valuable time. Thanks, guys. This is knowledge that cannot be obtained anywhere else...
Old 08-07-2022, 09:19 AM

Default Re: What Causes Corrupt Sessions?

for a while in the PT 2018.XX range I was highly suspicious that using clip effects could corrupt a session.
Old 08-07-2022, 09:41 AM