Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2012, 02:20 AM
mspin's Avatar
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 164
Default Thunderbolt-Firewire?

The new IMAC has the Thunderbolt port. Will the Digi 003 Factory adaptor that Apple sells for connection actually take full advantage of the speed. In other words Firewire 800 in 003 - then Thunderbolt in IMAC= bottleneck? Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:50 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Firewire?

Think about it...

The 003 has a Firewire 400 port. Nothing goes into or comes out of the 003 at a speed faster than that of Firewire 400.

Think about it like this...

Suppose you have a really long super-highway; 20 lanes wide. You can move a lot of cars on this super-highway.

But somewhere along this highway is a two-lane bridge, one lane in each direction.

No matter how much traffic can be carried either side of the bridge, the traffic, as a whole, will not move any faster than the amount carried over the bridge.

That's it...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-09-2012, 04:35 PM
mspin's Avatar
mspin mspin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 164
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Firewire?

Thanks. You confirmed what I thought. Just needed to hear it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-23-2016, 07:09 AM
T-Dubya T-Dubya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Firewire?

I realise this is an old thread but apart from speed being the same as FW400 the 003 works fine through TB connection/adaptor?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2016, 08:58 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 19,675
Default Re: Thunderbolt-Firewire?

Quote:
Originally Posted by T-Dubya View Post
I realise this is an old thread but apart from speed being the same as FW400 the 003 works fine through TB connection/adaptor?
Yes. Many people are using the Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt Drives vs Firewire vs Fusion sessionguitarist2013 Pro Tools 11 4 11-07-2013 04:49 PM
Firewire over Thunderbolt? Cowboy Bob FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 2 09-19-2013 02:09 PM
Thunderbolt drive with MBox Pro (firewire 400) KingTor macOS 2 11-13-2012 05:18 AM
Thunderbolt to FireWire 400 KyleWetherington 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-29-2012 08:14 AM
Apple $29 Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter now available nst7 Pro Tools 10 1 08-01-2012 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com