Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2005, 02:09 PM
Jake Jackson Jake Jackson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 18
Default PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs

Hi,

Anyone else seen this.

Recording and the screen freezes for about 10 seconds, then catches up. It appears to record and playback fine, but i have had one occasion where the click plugin stopped working. Done in both normal and quickpunch.

G5, dual 2GHz. 1,5gig ram. Recording to and playing back from firewire800.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2005, 03:21 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs

Hi.

Yes, I've seen this. Happens every now and then. Unfortunately, I didn't stop to check what drive(s) I had in use at the time. Stylus RMX tends to get a temporary "midi overflow" when this happens.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2005, 07:21 AM
Jake Jackson Jake Jackson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs

happening again, slightly different set up.

I can still punch whilst it is frozen!

No one else, really?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2006, 09:47 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs

I am reviving an old thread....
Any one ever solve this?? I have been having this since PT6.9.x and now still have it with PT7.1.cs3 and 10.4.3

Mot a show stopper but if there is a fix ......

thanks,
-Lee
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2006, 09:54 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs

Does it coincide with your AutoSave interval?

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2006, 04:18 AM
Andi R Andi R is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 595
Default Re: PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs

please take a look here:

http://duc.digidesign.com/showflat.p...t=1&PHPSESSID=


happens to everyone I know, but I haven΄t΄had it on PT 7... I hoped it wouild be gone there, but it seems not.
There is no cure I know of. Rail, doesn΄t this happen to you, too???

Cheers, Andi
__________________
ReRecording Mixer & Venue D-Show Live Sound & Recording Engineer


www.audio-machinery.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2006, 09:41 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,492
Default Re: PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs

I've never had it happen to any of my systems (Mac or XP)... except during the AutoSave cycle if the session contains a sampling reverb (like TL Space or AltiVerb) or Sampler which is set to save the IR or sample in the session file.

I've seen a system where the counter moved in a jerky fashion when the user was also on the internet.

I'd look into disabling Spotlight, etc. to see if that helps.

Previous thread re AutoSave

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 Screen Freeze? wdjudd Pro Tools 11 13 01-06-2016 11:46 AM
multiple crashes-screen freeze etc. solosound 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 03-11-2012 05:11 AM
Echo boy screen freeze Greene Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-28-2006 09:50 AM
Screen Freeze Sulaco Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-24-2002 05:54 PM
Blue Screen after 15 secs... fluid Digidesign Hardware & Software 8 11-18-2000 06:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com