Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-05-2003, 07:09 AM
Timeo Timeo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 4
Default MBox and Windows XP

Hi!
I'm a new MBox user with Windows XP.
I've just installed Pro Tools and my MBox, it's all ok!
But... can I play my Windows sounds (MP3, Waves, Audio CD, DVD) through Mbox?

Thanks...

Nico Timeo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2003, 11:16 AM
Drive d Drive d is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 282
Default Re: MBox and Windows XP

With your XP you have to tell it where to play those sounds. You can change all that in the set-ups for the different applications. There are still a few applications that have not yet cought up, such as Sound Forge.... You still need the windows sound card for that to work.
db
__________________
G5 Quad 2.5
Digi 002
G5 D 2.0 HD 3 Accel
Control 24 - (2)192's
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2003, 04:11 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: MBox and Windows XP

I believe Digi has released a Windows WAVE driver (sometimes called a WDM driver). I remember something about a DALWDM driver or something. Check the downloads section of Digi Support on this website.

When you install the MBox, it is setup to work with Protools only. You have an option to also install an ASIO driver which some other programs can use (like Cubase, Logic, Reason, etc). This will let those programs use the MBox as their sound card. Unfortunately, WinXP cannot use ASIO drivers. To get a device to work with Windows you need WDM drivers. Once you install those, WinXP can see the MBox and can send audio to it. Then all you have to do is go to the Control Panel and change your audio settings to use the MBox instead of any other sound card you have installed.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-2003, 04:16 PM
O.G. Killa's Avatar
O.G. Killa O.G. Killa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,152
Default Re: MBox and Windows XP

one other thing I forgot to mention...Audio CDs in your CDrom drive will most likely NOT play through the MBox. The reason being is that CD players usually have a separate Analog cable coming out of them to send CD audio to internal sound cards within the computer. The CD Audio is never sent around the computer digitally. There are some exceptions though. Some CDROM drives can Play the audio of a CD digitally. In this case your MBox could output the sound.

You'll have to look at your make and model CDROM drive to figure out if it can play audio CDs Digitially.
__________________
Derek Jones
Sound Engineer / Producer / Composer

Derek Jones Linkedin
Megatrax Recording Studios
Megatrax Studios Yelp Page
A-list Music Artist Page
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2003, 05:31 AM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: MBox and Windows XP

You can setup mediaplayer to play using DAE...(digital audio extraction; has nothing to do with the Digidesign Audio engine...)


in version 9:


goto extra/options/devices and choose your cdrom drive(s)

choose properties

and set the radiobuttons for playing and recording to "digital".
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updating Pro Tools and Mbox from Windows XP to Windows 7 ryanjantz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-29-2011 04:22 PM
Windows 7 and the MBox 2 Pro bms9nmh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-23-2010 04:09 PM
Original MBox with Windows Vista or Windows 7 JoshuaD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-16-2009 06:57 AM
Original MBox on Windows Vista or Windows 7 JoshuaD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-16-2009 06:50 AM
MBox Windows XP - when ?????????? brownmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 09-11-2002 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com