Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2012, 11:50 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,935
Default Anyway to turn off shift lock

I'm not sure what the function is exactly called but I hate it. If I hit the shift button on a control surface fast, it stays on. Can this function be turned off? It's like a penalty for moving fast. I end up doing things I don't want to do like instead of turning off a solo I use the transport. Any help?
Best
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2012, 06:23 AM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Hi - as I understand it, the shift feature can be used in either of two ways:

(1) Press and HOLD shift, press other button, release other button, THEN release shift

or:

(2) Press and release shift, engaging shift-lock mode

I'm assuming you're meaning to do (1), but accidently doing (2). Have I got this right ?

Unfortunately, I'm not sure how this is possible - for (1) you must keep holding shift till you've pressed and released the other button. Once you've done that, shift-lock mode is (I think) never engaged. Which suggests you must be tapping shift on its own - and I'm not sure why you'd do that, unless you want shift-lock.

Does any of that help ? If not, please describe the exact sequence of button presses that's causing shift-lock to be engaged.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2012, 11:37 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,935
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Hi Chris,
I'm simply holding shift and pressing the flip button. I flip down plug in about once a minute. I mix tv shows and go though the dialogue clip by clip eq, dns, de-ssses, unflip, volume ride. Then I move onto the next clip. Doing this flip , unflip action so much makes me super fast at it. I engage shift lock every time I flip or unflip plug ins. I'm just holding Dow. The shift key and hitting the flip key. That's it. Shift lock engaged. Super annoying. Please help!
Best
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-19-2012, 09:28 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 988
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Same here... I would love to be able to disable it!
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 48GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT HDX, PT 2020.9.1, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-23-2012, 04:41 AM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

I can only think you guys must sometimes be accidently releasing shift BEFORE you've finished pressing flip. That way shift-lock will engage.

The solution is to ensure you keep holding down shift, till flip (or whatever) is pressed.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-23-2012, 05:19 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 988
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris-euphonix View Post
I can only think you guys must sometimes be accidently releasing shift BEFORE you've finished pressing flip. That way shift-lock will engage.

The solution is to ensure you keep holding down shift, till flip (or whatever) is pressed.
Well, it happens all the time here. When I'm working (And I bought the controler to be faster!), I don't want to have to think about it. I hit it like I hit most of the shortcuts in the keyboard (like command C, V, etc...).
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 48GB RAM, OSX 10.13.6, PT HDX, PT 2020.9.1, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2019 2.4Ghz i5, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.14.6, PT Vanilla 2020.9.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-23-2012, 06:20 AM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
I hit it like I hit most of the shortcuts in the keyboard (like command C, V, etc...).
Yep - that sounds like exactly what you should be doing. It's what I do, and I don't recall ever having shift-lock engage spuriously. It only ever engages where I press and release shift before doing anything else.

Strange.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-25-2012, 07:50 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,935
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris-euphonix View Post
Yep - that sounds like exactly what you should be doing. It's what I do, and I don't recall ever having shift-lock engage spuriously. It only ever engages where I press and release shift before doing anything else.

Strange.
Hi chris,
No way I'm not hitting the flip key. I'm holding down flip and touching the flip key pretty fast but I'm definetly hitting the keys correctly. When I do this key combination I always do 2 things. 1 the controllers flip the plug in to the faders for editing and 2 engage shift lock. I'm not missing keys or hitting shift twice. I work on this controller every day for 8 hours a day. Trust me on this one. Either shift lock has a bug where it's engaging even when you are doing another command or shift lock has a design flaw and engages when you are doing othe commands. Either way I really this I should have to hold down option and shift to engage shift lock to prevent this crazy workflow killer of a feature from happening all the time without it being intensionally turned on.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-25-2012, 09:52 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 557
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandonx1 View Post
Hi Chris,
I'm simply holding shift and pressing the flip button. I flip down plug in about once a minute. I mix tv shows and go though the dialogue clip by clip eq, dns, de-ssses, unflip, volume ride. Then I move onto the next clip. Doing this flip , unflip action so much makes me super fast at it. I engage shift lock every time I flip or unflip plug ins. I'm just holding Dow. The shift key and hitting the flip key. That's it. Shift lock engaged. Super annoying. Please help!
Best
You don't have the timing of it down. You can't release both buttons simultaneously. I just tried and sometimes lock engages when you do that. Release the flip key first, then wait just a brief < half second before releasing shift, and it will not lock.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-01-2012, 01:54 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,935
Default Re: Anyway to turn off shift lock

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertg View Post
You don't have the timing of it down. You can't release both buttons simultaneously. I just tried and sometimes lock engages when you do that. Release the flip key first, then wait just a brief < half second before releasing shift, and it will not lock.
I'm moving to fast for all that. I need to just be able to hit the correct buttons and go. I have clients and tight deadlines. I really thing shiftlock should be a pref.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to turn Soft Key on AC into SHIFT key? digidesigner Artist Series 0 03-11-2013 06:50 AM
Urgent! In a session! Turn on horizontal scroll? (Shift+scroll) jonnytrip 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-12-2011 08:44 PM
Shift+tab feature how to turn on in 8? it rhymes with truck Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-10-2010 02:20 PM
Explanation for FORMANT shift in Time Shift Plug In, please! Darney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-13-2007 11:00 AM
CAPS LOCK AND SHIFT??? Major Tom ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 07-29-2003 06:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com